We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby -- not Chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Meadowlands to your Saves list
Hilton Meadowlands
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Meadowlands Plaza, East Rutherford, NJ 07073 (Formerly Sheraton Meadowlands Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
South Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Shabby -- not Chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Expected more from a Hilton property. I suppose the location is the one positive thing. But my room was outdated and not very clean. Bathroom needed help. The hairdryer was old & rusty, yes rusty. Actually found a toy left under the desk by a previous occupant. Limited internet connection.
The food in the restaurant was just basic - and overpriced.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    87
    61
    45
See reviews for
68
40
12
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First impressions were great: plenty of free parking, beautiful lobby, a free drink coupon at check-in, and an assignment to a "renovated room".

The elevator looks like it was very elegant when it was new, but maybe twenty years ago the tiles on the floor got cracked. I wondered if any of the other elevators were working since I always got the one with the cracked floor tiles.

I feel sorry for anyone that gets a room that has not been renovated! The bathroom counter had once been entirely chrome and must have looked nice, but is now covered with tiny rust spots. The heat in my room did not work (December stay) and I was cold at night. Luckily the covers were very warm and the rooms surrounding mine helped keep me warm. The clock time was off by 12 hours which is dangerous for anyone traveling on business. Luckily they don't use the standard Hilton clock (which does not allow guests to change the time) and I was able to fix this problem.

In the gym, several of the dumbbells were missing.

I went down to the bar to get my free drink, but the bartender's friend approached the bar just before I did. The friend got a free drink immediately (no coupon needed) and then he and the bartender leaned together and talked in hushed voices. After waiting politely for a while, I felt like I was imposing on the bartender by asking for a drink. He gave me a poorly made drink and went back to talking to his friend. On the positive side, the concierge lounge is nearly empty. Perhaps other business travelers have already learned to avoid this hotel.

If you're attending an event at the stadium then the location of this hotel is so perfect that it makes up for all the problems. I had business several miles away and will choose a different Hilton property next time.

Room Tip: As for a New York City view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hilton Meadowlands for one night and really enjoyed my short stay. My room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable (I had the skyline view room and I could see a part of the Manhattan skyline). The staff at the front desk we're extremely friendly! Probably some of the nicest hotel staff I've dealt with. They conveniently have a buffet breakfast in the morning ($) which was delicious and a Starbucks right in the hotel. It was about 15 minutes away from Newark airport and close to NYC. I agree with some people that the hotel could be updated but that's simply in the hallways. Don't stop yourself from staying here because of it; the rooms we're very nice and clean.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor and it was very quiet. The view was also a bit easier to see than a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I've just spent a weeks stay in this hotel. Room was great. Any issues were quickly dealt with by Daphney first class service. I recommend this hotel if you stay in the area. Lovely stay with frequent shuttle service to downtown. Daphney is a great help.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with a lot of potential but needs to be updated. Carpet is horrible, elevator is slow, Club Lounge on the 21st floor is horrible! Plus the gym is horrible. The hotel has lots of potential. Great location but horrible amenities. I unfortunately had a room on the 8th floor and it was atrocious! I felt like I was back in the 80's with bad furniture and bad lighting. Please update your rooms. They put me in a room next to the elevator and there was a lot of noise.

Room Tip: Club lounge is not a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed on our booking one night, originally booked 2 nights but found we only needed 1. The staff was good in changing our reservation without faulting and charging additional fee. Room was comfortable however the bathroom was small and nothing to rave about. Our stay perhaps would have been more comfortable had not a bus full of kids slamming doors continually early in the am. Next time it would be advisable to take the extra cost and go up to a higher floor level.

Room Tip: Probably a quieter floor at upward levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands, NJ, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A hotel can be worn but given the amount of usage & daily occupancy this Hilton hotel must have there is no excuse for not keep this location at the top of your list. But what really offended me was that of all of the Hilton Hotels I have stayed at around the world, this location was dirty, run down with little or no attention to detail. A corporate review of this location has to be done!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Meadowlands

Address: 2 Meadowlands Plaza, East Rutherford, NJ 07073 (Formerly Sheraton Meadowlands Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Meadowlands is adjacent to IZOD Center, MetLife Stadium, and is 8 miles from NYC. Our East Rutherford, NJ hotel has 15 meeting rooms totaling 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Meadowlands Hotel East Rutherford
Sheraton East Rutherford
Sheraton Secaucus
East Rutherford Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.