We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For New Jersey nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Route 17 South, East Rutherford, NJ 07073   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“For New Jersey nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Although I couldn't find a stair well to save my life in a fire the hotel was great. Food in am and evening was great. Loved the meals. Executive office was useless because I couldn't download important docs. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear ColbyButler,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on trip advisor, your comments are truly appreciated. I see from your comments that you had a concern regarding our stairwells. Our stairwells are located at each end of our building and are marked by illuminated exit signs. Also note our stairwells are designed to lcoal fire codes and when exiting they will take you out of the building as a safety precaution.

Sincerely,
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    52
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
125
46
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is an all suite hotel-on a major road but quiet and nicely furnished with great amenities.Stayed here while visiting family in Rutherford and really enjoyed it-excellent bed and lovely kitchen area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kasia1950;

It was a pleasure to be your host during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a "Great Stay in a comfortableSuite". Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Tom
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in the area. Although right off rt17, there is very little highway noise in the rooms. All the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinners offered are decent and there is plenty of options considering its really only a small buffet. Food is restocked quickly. If you don't like any of the options, there are several places to eat within walking distance such as Panera Bread.The staff is the best! I'm there quite often and many not only remember my face but my name as well. Considering how many guests they see weekly, I find that quite impressive. Hotel is convenient to Teterboro airport, the stadium, and NYC.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about highway noise which is very little, ask for a room facing the side or bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear chelep,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you "Love This Hotel". It was a pleasure to be your host. I see that you enjoyed our facilities and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Cheers,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family planned a visit to New York City for a few days, and we decided to stay at this Homewood Suites in East Rutherford, NJ, instead of staying at a hotel in The City. It was a smart choice.

By way of location, the hotel was conveniently located on Route 17 just outside of NYC. The Lincoln Tunnel is perhaps 10 minutes or so from the hotel, to give you context.

The hotel is rather new and well maintained, and had ample complimentary parking. The check in process was smooth and the front desk staff were courteous and efficient.

Our suite was very nicely appointed. We were a family of 5 so we chose a 2 bedroom suite, which consisted of two separate bedrooms - each with their own full bathroom - a full kitchen and a living room with a sleep sofa. We had a nice view of the skyline of The City in the distance, which was quite nice. The beds, including the sleep sofa, we're comfortable and had quality linens. The suite was well soundproofed, as we never heard anyone outside our suite. There was no room safe, which would have been a nice option.

The hotel offers a full & hot complimentary breakfast daily and, a complimentary hot dinner/supper (on weeknights). The selection was extensive, fresh and hot, for both the breakfast and the dinner. The dinner included wine. The eating area was very nice and clean. The staff kept the area clean and the food fresh and plentiful.

The front desk staff were very helpful. When I went down to inquire about potential parking lot options in The City, they dissuaded me from doing so (advertised parking for $35/day really become $75/day and that sort of thing), and encouraged us to use their complimentary shuttle to a nearby bus stop, which had a bus that would take us directly into The City and deposit us at the Port Authority Bus Station at Times Square. I was a bit leery about taking the city bus, but we took her up on it. The shuttle took us quickly to the bus stop the next morning, and the bus arrived within minutes. The bus seemed to have its own lane going through the Lincoln Tunnel, as we arrived at Times Square in about 25 minutes or so, an astonishing travel time during morning rush hour. And just like that, we were in Times Square and ready to hit the sights. We reversed the process to get back, and it was quite easy as well. A quick call to the hotel as the bus approached the stop across the street from where we got on that morning, and within 10 minutes the shuttle arrived to bring us back to the hotel. A major bonus of the hotel front desk staff saving us from being scammed / ripped off by a city parking lot was the realization when we got back just how convenient & how little $ it was for all of us to get to the city by shuttle & bus. If after all this you'd rather take your car, like I said the hotel is close to the Lincoln Tunnel if you prefer to drive instead.

The complimentary wifi worked very well in our suite and the indoor pool was clean & enjoyed by the kids.

We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that overlooks the skyline of NYC, it's a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Travelling TFP;

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, your comments are truly appreciated. I am glad to hear that we are a "Smart Choice When Visiting NYC". We are actually located only 8 miles from Times Square in NYC. When commuting into the city from here public transportation is always the best way to go. I see that you had a good experience using our public transportation system. Again thank you for recommending us and hopefully you will stay with us again in the near future. Cheers!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here frequently on business, always enjoy my stay. It is fairly new, well kept, attractively decorated, courteous staff. They serve food in the evening that is comfortable and well prepared. Also serve a decent breakfast, better than most, but not the cook to order you get at many of the Hilton garden inns. The rooms are spacious , kitchen is reasonably equipped, and the part I like the best is the tv has an hdmi port so I can stream Netflix as an option to the vast wasteland of cable tv.
I would also recommend this for a weekend getaway close to NYC and meadowlands.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a view of the city skyline- can see the Empire State and the new WTC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Grizz99;

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you think we are a "Great hotel, clean neat, good service, & comfortable. It was a pleasure to be your host while staying with us. Please keep us in mind when traveling to our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Tom
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a fire at our home in October we quickly needed to find place to stay that was close to our kids school but also offered enough room for a family of four for an extended period of time. Our only knowledge of the Homewood Suites in East Rutherford was when we used to pass it while we ate at the Baja Fresh across the road. We were heading back to a family members house when we decided to stop. We were promptly greeted by Joe at the front desk. He immediately offered to show us the facilities and rooms. We were very impressed by the size of the two bedroom suites so we decided this would be the place for us to stay for next few months. After receiving insurance company approval we called and spoke to Tamara who immediately began the reservation process. Our insurance company does things a little differently when it comes to billing but that was not a deterrent to Tamara. With the assistance of general manager Tom we were able to secure a beautiful suite on the 4th floor with great views of NYC and MetLife Stadium.

Little did we know that what was supposed to be a few weeks stay turned into over 3 months. Its no exaggeration to say that our stay here kept us sane during a very trying time. We were here during Hurricane Sandy, Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Through it all we always felt relaxed and at peace.

Everyone here goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. The staff at the front desk always made sure our children were happy and that we did not want for anything. The staff preparing the food for both breakfast and dinner were amazing and accomodated any special dietary needs we had. The housekeepers always made sure we had a spotless, fully stocked room. Top to bottom I could not find one fault with this place. My kids loved the pool and basketball court, my wife loved that we were able to do laundry on site, I loved the gym and sauna, etc.

After over 3 months our jouney came to an end a few days ago. We were actually sad to leave the Homewood Suites behind. We made some nice friends and shared some great memories. My kids enjoyed themselves so much they asked if we could spend our next vacation there even though we only live ten minutes away.

I will end this by saying kudos to Tom and his wonderful staff including but not limited to Tamara, Kevin, Joe, Chris, Caroleena, Marvin, Blanca, Nancy, James, Manny, Olga. Its not often you come across a place like the Homewood Suites in East Rutherford, NJ. Maybe one day we will take that vacation ten minutes from home just so we can stay here again!!

-The Harrison Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Christopher H. & Family;

Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you may return on a vacation even though you only live a few miles away. Thank you for thinking of us as your extended family. We are glad that we made your stay pleasent and that your children enjoyed the holiday season. Again thank you and please stay in touch as you and your family will always be remembered as part of our family.

Regards,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay here about 10 times a year and signs of wear and tear are starting to become more visible. Attention needs to be given to carpeting and furniture. The property is quite new and frankly I am surprised at its recent condition. As a diamond member I spend approximately 200 days a year on the road and definitely not the worst place I have stayed just needs a little attention and TLC. The staff is always very friendly and the managers reception dinner is always fresh. The location is good there are several restaurants behind the hotel in the strip mall. The is a Panera bread,CiCi's pizza,Chinese buffet and a Cheeburger Cheeburger. If that doesn't suffice there are more restaurants within walking distance behind the hotel up on the hill. Overall not a bad stay just needs a small amount of TLC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jawa1a;

Thank you for being a loyal Hilton Hhonors Diamond Member and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Your comments are truly appreciated and are welcomed. We are aware of the carpeting ware especially in our lobby area and will be making some improvements in 2013. Currently we are in the planning stages and are awaiting direction from Hilton Hotels as they are in the process of rolling out new designs for Homewood Suites lobbies, the first prototype was just finished in Memphis, TN. Again thank you and we look forward to your return.

Tom
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands

Address: 125 Route 17 South, East Rutherford, NJ 07073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands Hotel East Rutherford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.