We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, but standard Chines-American fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Chu

Mr Chu
44 State Route 10 West, East Hanover, NJ 07936
973-887-7555
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 68 Restaurants in East Hanover
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good food, but standard Chines-American fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went there Christmas day as it was one of the very few restaurants open. Waited one hour for a table (got there 6:15pm) even though we were told it was a 30 minute wait. (Had to get there before 5:30 or after 8pm to avoid wait.) The food was good but the service was VERY slow given the huge crowds - and it honestly was not worth the wait - we would not do this again. There is really no place to wait and it was VERY uncomfortable standing in the limited hallway/walkway. We would go back, just not on a major holiday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MidWest
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This can't be the best Chinese in the area.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The food was SO salty, way too much sauces. Prices werent anything special given the poor quality. The vegetable dumplings were the best part. The scallops although covered in sauce did seem fresh. Would never go back. I heard there is a place called Bill and Harry's down the road, I'll try that next time.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't Even Think About It!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the worst Chinese restaurant I've ever eaten at. I don't know how they stay in business. They're way overpriced for the quality and amount of food they serve. We ordered the Shrimp with Lobster Sauce and it was blah! To boot, the decor is dull and dreary.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch/dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food is good, the atmosphere is average, and the service is competent. I often stop for a quiet lunch. For dinner it is average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's getting run of the mill....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What was once a great Chinese restaurant has become run of the mill.....just like any other you find in strip malls or shopping malls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chu also viewed

East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 
East Hanover, Morris County
 

Been to Mr Chu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Chu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.