We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem - great date night restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jai Alai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jai Alai Restaurant
73 W. Blackwell Street, Dover, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: French, Spanish
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing gem - great date night restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I loved the paella at this restaurant. The owner was charming. He selects the seafood from the fish market daily. He pays more for high quality seafood.
The red sangria was delicious and headache free.
So nice to enjoy a quiet romantic dinner at jai-alai.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worse Paella ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I called to make sure they were using Spanish rice. They told me authentic Spanish rice, is what they use. Well, they use parboil, watery, tasteless, pale(without saffron) rice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“authenic northern spain food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

tucked away on a side street by an elevated road in Dover, New Jersey is this charming little restaurant. My cousin has known the owner, Nick for over 40 years and promised this would be an amazing meal. We shared the mushrooms stuffed with cheese, sounds simple enough but this dish was unbelievably delicious. We shared a house salad, very fresh, well done. I had a dish with shrimp and scallops and my cousin had lobster tails, along with assorted vegetables and of course spanish potatoes (chips) that were the best ever! Their sauces are different to the point I cannot describe other than to say delicious. I was a bit concerned about parking but there is safe parking on the street and around the corner on a lot, away from the hubbub of the main streets in Dover. I'm definitely going back !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best kept secrets in North Jersey. It's tucked into a corner in Dover, that you really have to look for. But take the time to find it! We have been coming here for years, and it never disappoints. They still make one of the best pitchers of sangria I've ever had. The garlic soup is subtle and delicious, with a perfectly cooked egg, floating on top. The Paella is wonderful- Overflowing with lobster, seafood, chorizo ,etc. We ordered it for three and had enough food for four. Their famous stuffed mushrooms shouldn't be missed. Veggies are crisp, fresh and flavorful. Save room for the flan for dessert, it's worth the calories. The service was excellent, but make reservations on the weekend, or you may have to wait.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, NJ
1 review
“Not One Disappointment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We love authentic Basque - Spanish cuisine. We eat at Jai-Alai about twice a month. This is the best in Dover, Morris County and maybe Northern New Jersey. We know the menu at this hideaway by heart and trust the new specials will be perfect. Even after 24 years we keep going back because Nick, Cathy and the staff CARE ABOUT THE FOOD. It’s a place you will feel welcomed and comfortable. Try the addictive, delicious stuffed mushrooms.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jai Alai Restaurant also viewed

Dover, Morris County
Dover, Morris County
 
Dover, Morris County
Dover, Morris County
 

Been to Jai Alai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jai Alai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.