We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Pumpkin Ice Cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Dairy Maid

Dover Dairy Maid
Us-46 & Depew Ave., Dover, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best Pumpkin Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just found my new fall place for Pumpkin Ice Cream, Dover Dairy Maid. They advertise that it's homemade and it's gotta be because it's the best I've ever had. It's right on Rt. 46 in Dover, NJ. Easy in & out. I noticed the floor could use a little sweeping but it was busy so I understood. Try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little ice cream parlor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I love this place, their ice cream is always absolutely delicious and perfectly sized. Whether its a post sports game stop with family snd friends or just a quick stop as part of a date, this place is definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Vanilla ice cream is to die for! It has been there for years and years... so that must tell you its really good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden State
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I’ve been to countless ice cream shops and in my opinion they are all a dime a dozen. When you are young anything goes, but as your taste buds mature you realize that there truly is good ice cream and fabulous ice cream. The Dover Dairy Maid is the best ice cream shop on so many levels. Its retro old-skool design brings you back to a time when mom-and-pop businesses dominated the world and were once the norm. You know they must be doing something right when people are willing to patiently wait in lines that often run out the door…and you don’t hear them make a peep! That is unheard of in Jersey. This place really is heaven on earth. I am the type of person that when I know that someone makes something great I will go back and order it time after time. After taste testing the Chocolate soft serve at many different places I have given the D.D.M., as I call it for short, the title of Best Chocolate Soft Serve. Although I do pretty much always order a cup of that, my husband is the daring and venturesome ice cream aficionado. The good thing about that is that I get to sample some of his without having to compromise and give up my addiction…that’s why I take him along. :) The D.D.M. has a myriad of soft serve flavors, some of which are offered on a seemingly monthly basis (note-closed for winter): Chocolate, Vanilla, Fat-free Chocolate, Fat-free Vanilla, Coconut, Mango, Blueberry, Black Raspberry, Strawberry, Banana, Peanut Butter, Fat-free Oreo, and Fat-free Red Velvet. There are typically ten flavors available at all times which is the largest soft serve selection that I have found anywhere…that is if you are talking about the type that doesn’t come from a ketchup pump and get mixed in with a base. I cannot even categorize that “stuff” as ice cream…still haven’t figured out what it is. My husband’s favorite licks are the Peanut Butter soft serve and the Blueberry Cheesecake hard ice cream. He has also enjoyed the Dulce de Leche, Milky Way, and Mounds flavors of hard ice cream. I once got a Mint Chocolate Chip shake and it was so good that I think next time I go back (a.k.a. tonight), that I will order it. I’m feeling sort of wildly experimental lately. Dover Dairy Maid is a place that I will never forget, that someday I will sadly long for…but a place that at present time I will often frequent and gladly welcome my addiction. I don’t know why the NJ mags don’t give recognition and kudos to such a great institution…the rest of Jerzey don’t know what they are a missin’! Another added bonus: Check out the Dover Grill beforehand which is attached to the Dover Dairy Maid and has the same owner!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Dairy Maid also viewed

Dover, Morris County
Dover, Morris County
 
Dover, Morris County
 

Been to Dover Dairy Maid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Dairy Maid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.