We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Commerce Center Drive, Dover, NJ 07810   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend stay for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked a weekend here even though we live only twenty minutes away. Just an inexpensive opportunity to get away. My kids do not even really care as its a hotel and it is not home. We booked a one bedroom suite, which was comfortable for our family of five. The room was clean and well presented and any needs we had (i.e. additional towels) were delivered promptly. We brought our own food, but the hotel is minutes from a number of restaurants. We basically used the two days so our kids could just chill out and swim in the hotel pool. The pool was indoors and not very big, but it was enough. Breakfast was served both days (hot). I will say this is the one area I found a bit deficient. The breadth of food was commendable (eggs, DIY waffles, cereal, fruit, etc.), but the pace at which stations and bowls were replaced was very slow, especially on Sunday morning. We ate around 8:30 and there were many people standing waiting for food to be brought out. This continued our entire breakfast. My only advice to hotels that make it a point to advise guests that breakfast is included, is to ensure there is adequate flow of food into the dining area so you do not frustrate guests. Other than my quips about the breakfast, this was a really nice stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa J, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our hotel. We are happy to know that you did enjoy our hotel accommodations and you and your family had a nice time.

We do appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast. Our mission here at the Homewood Suites in Dover NJ is to always strive to be the best and provide our guests with a great experience. We are taking your comments to heart and we will be working to ensure this area receives more of our attention.

We thank you again for your business and loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

The Homewood Suites Dover NJ staff members want nothing more than to make your future stays with us perfect.

Sincerely,


Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    55
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
98
42
11
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great hotel, quiet location, ideal for dogs. Nice staff and great room with very comfortable bed

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. We are very happy that you did enjoy our services and we look forward to your future stays with us.

We hope that you have a wonderful summer time!

Sincerely,

Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is great!!! We were 3 families and had an unbelivable experience. Breakfast is very nice!! Very clean, an looks new!!! Great backyard to get a tan after a pool or have a meal outside. The only reason I'm giving a 4 star is beacause everywhere it sais that they have Teniss on site but in fact they don't we were very excited and took our rackets with us but the most frustrating thing to me was that the front desk wasn't sure if they have a tennis court???!!!! And then the manager started sending us somewhere around the parking lot...which was all a lie of course. They could have just said "soory but we don't have one" and I would have understood. Otherwse it was a great stay!!! Will deffinately go back.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 or 5 you could easily book a king size bed b/c they have a big sofa bed tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa J, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our hotel. I was happy to learn that you did have a good time here with us. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit.

Please excuse us for not being more specific with our Tennis court location. Please stop and see us at the front desk once again if you do wish to use our Tennis court. This one is located near the Entrance of the building; we do use it as a basketball court but have the supplies to convert it into a Tennis court.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Homewood Suites Dover NJ in the near future and making your stay with us perfect.

Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spend a long weekend on a "trip to nowhere." The facility is sparkling clean, both the rooms and common areas. It is well located across the street from a major shopping mall. Many restaurants nearby. A Shoprite supermarket is nearby to stock up on food and snacks for your two-room suite. The indoor swimming pool was a plus. The one major, major complaint is the rooms do not have safes. This created a security concern when going down to the pool whether to leave valuables in the room. Also if you bring along a laptop or tablet (free wi-fi) what do you do with the device when you leave the premises for dinner or to shop?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa J, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you so much for this great feedback. We were very pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us. Our mission is to be sure that your stay is perfect and we are happy to know that we accomplished our goal.

Next time you come to visit please let us know if you would like to have a safe, we do have them available at our front desk area. These safes are very secure.

We are thankful for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for a total of 4 weeks. The hotel is clean and the service is good. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (good mattress, towels, sheets, lighting, fans, etc). My primary gripe is that the kitchen could use a few more items and the items are not the same in every room. I chose to buy a bin to pack a salad for lunch and a tea kettle to easily heat and pour water. Overall it is pretty quiet. When the hotel fills up, which seems to only happen on the weekend, if at all, there is definitely more noise and motion, but it was not horrible. Breakfast, Dinner and drinks are served Mon-Thur and Breakfast is served on the weekends. It is a generous food package, although the food is simple/american/not overly healthy. Internet is free. The gym is small, but the equipment was pretty good. The indoor pool is empty during the week and fully of kids on the weekends. The hotel is located across the street from a mall and within a mile of a grocery store.

Room Tip: One side of the 4th floor appears to be smoking. Avoid the 4th floor if you cannot stand cigarettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa J, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule and expressing your satisfaction with our hotel. I was happy to see that we were able to meet your expectations. Hopefully on your next visit we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Please give us a call on your next visit prior to your arrival; it will be our pleasure to have a tea kettle waiting for you in your suite. We would like to be your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites by Hilton in the near future.

Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I enjoy that Homewood Suites has a basketball court. I never used it but it's a plus to get activity in on site at a hotel aside from a pool and gym. Even nicer when I see families playing. This Homewoods site is very close to a mall. That's always a plus in my book. The decor gave the feeling this was a hotel for business travelers. I liked the look. I do wish Homewood could invest in a heartier/thicker bacon. I also like the channels on their TV. Not all Homewood Suites are the same. I'm a Honors member so trust me - I know.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa J, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time and expressing your satisfaction with our hotel. We are so happy to see that you had a good time with us and enjoyed our services. We hope you had some time to do a little shopping; having the mall this close to us is such a treat.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites by Hilton in the near future.

Luisa Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I called this place home for six months. I don' t know where to start on how great this place is,The staff goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is great. I had surgery on my foot and staff made sure I had everything I needed to be safe The rooms manager Ben even brought me to the doctors. Monday threw thursday dinner is served there is beer and wine.Breakfast has a great choice. I like to mention everybodys name but I don't want for forget anybody. Thank you again for being like family to me.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule and expressing your satisfaction with our hotel. I was happy to see that we were able to exceed your expectations. Im Glad Ben was available to ensure you got to your appointment safely. I hope you have recovered from your surgery and that you are preparing to run a marathon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites by Hilton in the near future.

Louis Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway

Address: 2 Commerce Center Drive, Dover, NJ 07810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Dover - Rockaway is located just minutes from Parsippany, Morristown, Denville, Mt. Arlington and the International Trade Center in Mt. Olive in Dover, New Jersey. Enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool, basketball & tennis courts. Explore many Dover area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.