We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Taste Chinese Restaurant

Hunan Taste Chinese Restaurant
67 Bloomfield Ave, Denville, NJ 07834-2728
973-625-2782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Denville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We met my dates daughter and her boyfriend for supper. Arriving early we sat at the bar to have a libation first. The bartender was very friendly, and gave great service. The restaurant was VERY busy. If you didn't have reservations you would have a long wait. The staff provided efficient service but we had to ask and wave them down. The most attentive was the girl who served water! The food was good. We had Chicken with Broccoli, a brown sauce. My date and his children enjoyed it. They love the Duck Sauce with the Crispy Noodles that are brought to the table as you sit down. I had Chicken with Snow Peas. It was good however slightly flavorless, would have been nice to have Soy Sauce but there was none on the table, and by the time a server came around I decided it was to late. The evening was a fun evening as even tho the restaurant was packed they allowed us to sit and finish without rushing us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was Christmas Eve and My girlfriend and I just got back from Manhattan and we were starving. We were in the mood for Chinese. It was 8:30pm so the concierge at our hotel told us to try The Hunan Taste. Alot of nearby places to eat were closed because of the holiday. It was busy.(we were seated immediately)We sat down and we were given the usual appetizers. The waiter came and immediately asked us what we wanted to drink and he mentioned the drink specials. He seemed disappointed that we didnt order any alcoholic drinks. But we were not there to drink alcohol we were there to eat!
The outside decor was cheesy. It was a stereotypical exterior of a palace Asian style,it didnt go with the nearby area. Thats fine. I ordered sesame chicken and my girlfriend ordered shrimp with lobster sauce. The chicken sesame was a bit under-cooked But it was still fine. My girlfriend liked the shrimp but in the Lobster sauce there were bits and pieces of some type of meat,we thought it might have been beef it tasted bad! My girlfriend doesnt eat beef,luckily she picked them all out of the sauce before she ate. our bill for two dishes egg drop soup and ice water? $56 dollars! My girlfriend even left a ten dollar tip. Now the food was standard fare,standard Chinese takeout. Too expensive.. It was the same type of food you order at your local neighborhood Chinese joint!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pushy Service, WAY OVERPRICED!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I just do not get it. They have a great location, and it is busy every time. The food is OK, not great. But the prices are OUTRAGOUS!! This is chinese food. There were 4 of us, and we each ordered a dish and a soda. Nothing special. The bill came out to $ 91 without tip. Every dish on the menue was over $ 15. They push other dishes and dessert constantly. And if you don't order dessert, they make you feel guilty. "The children would DEFINATELY like dessert". Rediculous! The decor is nice, but the rudeness and the prices are NOT WORTH THE TRIP!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very Good High End Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to Hunan Taste to celebrate our son's birthday. This is a high end Chinese Restaurant, beautifully decorated outside & in. For a nice sit-down, attentively waited-on, tasty dining experience, this place is inexpensive compared to other first class restaurants - but if you're comparing it to the typical Chinese take-out place, you will find it pricey. The rich decor, pleasant atmosphere & attentive staff put you in the right mood even before the food comes. We found the food very good & the portions generous. Our party of six had chicken, shrimp & steak dishes as well as their house special fried rice, spring roles, shrimp roles & dumplings & they were all very good & ever person in our party took home left-overs. We were very pleased & will go back again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hunan Taste A Great Import”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When I give directions to Denville I tell them to look for a Red Building with Dragons. When people ask where can they find good Chinese Food in Denville I tell them go to the Red Building with Dragons. The food is excellent and the wait
staff is very formal. Growing up in Morris County about 40 years ago there where
few Chinese Restaurants.There was the New York Tea Garden in Morristown which where run by real restauranteurs as they where called then. There where no hot and spicy menu items but the egg rolls where the best . The Tea Garden is gone along with the Shantung in Dover. Now every town has a few chinese take out kitchens and there are few real formal Chinese restaurants . So if you want
this service Hunan Taste on the route 46 corrider is the spot along with Jaspers in
Parsippany. Jaspers has two menus one that is authentic but written in chinese and a American Chinese menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Taste Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Denville, Morris County
 
Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Hunan Taste Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Taste Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.