We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heard it was good....WRONG!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yama Sushi

Yama Sushi
5 E Main St, Ste 5, Denville, NJ 07834-2171
973-627-7712
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 72 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heard it was good....WRONG!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I heard a few people say this place was good.....yeah maybe if you've been raised on Chinese sushi. The Spider roll (soft shell crab) was a microscopic crab that was fried TWICE (two layers of fried batter). The fish was not fresh; barely edible. Stay far, far away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We love Yama so much we make a point of visiting when we are back east from California! Our entire family loves the Yama salad and our favourite roll is the Jack Pot Johnny! We love the variety of rolls and the warm and friendly atmosphere. We have not yet found the equal in the Bay Area!!
Top Marks!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good Suchi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love Sushi and Sashimi and theirs is pretty good. Fresh and well prepared. I also often, when I don't feel like cooking order "take-out".
Fusun D. Charles

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have tried the tempura and the sushi. Outstanding! We have been here several times and have never been disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yummy big bowl sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We've been to Yama Sushi many times and almost always share an order of the Big Bowl Sashimi salad. It's a big bowl with lettuce and other salad veggies, seaweed salad, and topped with several different kinds of sashimi. It comes with miso soup and white rice, plus a special Korean style red, spicy sauce that is soooo good on the salad. The staff is very friendly and the owner is always there with a big smile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Sushi also viewed

Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Yama Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yama Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.