We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight for the sweet tooth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara's Cafe and Bakery

Mara's Cafe and Bakery
25 E. Main Street, Denville, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Morris County
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delight for the sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The array of baked goods and fresh gelato is amazing. It takes a few minutes to check out the options and decide what to try. Particularly tough since there aren't any bad choices!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We offer free samples of gelato so you can choose your favorite of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Their cheesecake is really really good even though it is not cheap. I had lunch a few times and they have nice sandwiches. Pretty unique place to eat if you're into a café style atmosphere where you can hang out and have a good cup of coffee.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've been there for dessert only so far. Will definately try a meal soon. People are so nice nd the service is great. Can't wait to go back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you and welcome to Mara's! Earn discounts with our rewards program, sign up at the register or on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I enjoy coming to Mara's, whether it's just to pick up some cupcakes or to have a sit down dinner with friends. They have a very expansive menu, I have such a hard time deciding what I want to order each time I go. They have very long hours which is a bonus. I think the food is decent. What I really like are all the baked goods, what a great selection. If you are ever in the area and want to pick up a little treat, definitely check them out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Spring Special menus just started to give you more new choices. Be sure to become a Mara's Rewards member so that we can Make Every Day Delicious for you! Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Mara the best place in Denville for tea and caked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I love meeting friends at Mara. The best Hot Chocolate, cakes and Italian Gelatos.
As icing on the cake, the service is excellent and friendly.
Also a nice place to grab a sandwich or quick lunch. My favorite is Grlled Mushrroms in Pannetoni.
It is definitely my favorite place in Denville,
Fusun

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing. Hope you are a Mara's Rewards member so that we can Make Every Day Delicious for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara's Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Denville, Morris County
 
Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Mara's Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara's Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.