We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara's Cafe and Bakery

Mara's Cafe and Bakery
25 E. Main Street, Denville, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a wonderful spot for breakfast or lunch, but also for when you just need a fix for your sweet tooth. I've found the desserts to be excellent, including the peanut butter silk pie. I have tried sandwiches and soups here as well as teas and coffees and all were tasty. My only single complaint is that service here is hit or miss and can often take a long time to be served. I also wish the place was a little cleaner inside as the floors always appear to be a bit dirty and the tables are not often cleaned up right away. My guess is that its just a high traffic spot and they can't keep up with constant cleaning, but overall, this is a nice spot for a quick casual dessert or soup/sandwich or breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your loyalty. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our managers and staff. Hope you are a Mara's Rewards member so that Mara's can Make Every Day Delicious for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Arlington, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to gather and enjoy coffe and desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is one of our favorite places and one that we often frequent. They serve excellent entrees but we especially like to enjoy their desserts, coffee and their wonderful Gelato. The European-like atmosphere is very relaxed and we are never rushed. Highly recommended for casual dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is my #1 go-to place for desserts and specialty food items. They have great Soups, Quiche, and wraps. Just used them to cater an event for 50 people, the food was a big hit! Parking is tricky; I would recommend the municipal lot just up the road.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for sharing, glad to hear our catering was a hit. Hope you joined Mara's Reward program to earn loyalty discounts for your visits. Great reminder about the municipal parking lots; only one block away. Make Every Day Delicious! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a disappointment this was for us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Can't speak for others but our lunch was so disappointing that we would not go back.

No on even asked us if we wanted help although three able bodied young men were checking their cell phones at about 2 PM and there were no other customers in line. I spoke up and said, "I'd like to order" in order to get their attention!!

I ordered the Panini and soup of the day which was very good except the soup was so thin it was laughable. My husband insisted that they had probably run close to out of the soup and added water to make a full cup. We sat outside and the dishes are cleared by customers to a rolling bin that was filled to overflowing and had papers blowing all around. None of the tables were wiped off but when I asked a server did in fact come back with a cloth.

Consider that we had read about this place and looked forward to a nice lunch, I'd rate it a C- at best. Such poor customer service and the tone in the voices indicate that perhaps they do not like their jobs there. Management should step in and remind these folks that we customers actually pay for their jobs!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian m, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be reviewed with our managers. Mara's strive to create an experience for our guests that we would want for ourselves and your experience does not meet our standards. I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gelato Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We love gelato and seek it out when we go out of state. It was a warm, delightful day and sat outside enjoying our gelato. Great flavors!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian m, Owner at Mara's Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks, hope you'll be back soon to enjoy more gelato or other delectable desserts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara's Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Mara's Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara's Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.