We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in this Hampton Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Morris Avenue, Denville, NJ 07834   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in this Hampton Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Do not reserve your room thru the hotel direct, give you one price over the phone,charge you another price at checkout, book on line where you can print your reservation & price. Breakfast hot items were ice cold no one around to see about obtaining food that is hot. No vending machines have a little room with sodas & candy to buy, want $1.60 for a candy buy that cost 25 cents, a total rip off. The manager is very nasty to deal with. Do yourself a favor & stay at another hotel.

  • Liked — Close for our business meeting
  • Disliked — Manager & staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    72
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
85
44
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

I travel often to Morris County (for business) and I've stayed at this hotel on 3 trips. It has always been my second choice.

Everything is average.

Food:
The hotel is not within walking distance of any restaurants and the delivery options are limited to pizza and Chinese. There are no fridges or microwaves in any guest rooms or public areas and there are no vending machines in the building. The only place to get food or drinks is the overpriced hotel convenience store. The complimentary continental breakfast is mediocre. I've had better at other Hampton Inns. They do put warm cookies in your room every afternoon (if you remember to take down the "do not disturb" sign), which is a nice touch.

Service:
Front desk personalities are lukewarm. Some have limited English proficiency. No one is good with directions or has any opinions about local restaurants. The Italian restaurant they recommended (Bella Italia, or something like that) was very overpriced and mediocre. I ended up eating at the Olive Garden near Rockaway Town Center several times.

Rooms:
They are clean enough. This hotel could use a renovation. I've seen better and worse within the Hampton Inn chain.

Location:
Worked well for me. Close to all of my travel appointments in the Morristown area and also conveniently located less than 5 miles from the Rockaway Town Center Mall (Macys, JCPenney, etc. Target, Olive Garden, Borders outside the mall).

Overall this hotel is okay. The price is fair, if you can get a room (for some reason this place stays booked up during the week). If you aren't going to be in your room too much, this place works.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

Nice Hotel.
The pool was excellent.
The front desk girls were ok if you could find them (outside smoking). Luciana was very rude.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

I stayed at the Hampton Inn with my dad from July 1st to the 4th. The service was excellent, so was the maid service. The continental breakfast was good. The free shuttle drove us to a nice restaurant near by. The staff was very helpful, especially D because she went out of her way to find good transportation for my dad and I to the airport. I'm from the west coast and stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding. If I ever come back to the area, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

This hotel was our second choise, but it turned out to be a much better hotel for the money spent. We had a wonderful buffet breakfast, where the other hotel charged $9.00 for a Continental Breakfast. There were fresh chocolate chip cookies each evening and fresh fruit in the morning. We had the heated pool to ourselves since most people don't like to swim when it is cold outside, even with an indoor pool. The rooms were very clean and very quiet. The parking was close by and we could see our car from our room. Will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

I stayed in this hotel the week of February1 thorugh the 4th.
Never again!!!
The front desk girls were very childish and spent more time on the phone than doing there job.
On one instance I didnt recieve any response at the front desk when I came to the lobby the front desk attendant was outside smoking.
Luciana was very rude and did not follow through on my wakeup call.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2003

What a horrible experience! The front desk is unattentive and rude. I felt like I was dealing with kindergarteners. The buffet breakfast was sparse and unappealing. Our room had hair in the bathroom and the room smelled like smoke, when we specifically asked for a non-smoking room.
I am a Hilton Honors Memeber I was very disappointed with this particular hotel. I would not recommend this Hampton Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany

Address: 350 Morris Avenue, Denville, NJ 07834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Denville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Denville/Rockaway/Parsippany is conveniently located off Interstate 80 just a 30 minute drive from New York City, MetLife Stadium and Newark International Airport in Denville, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Explore many Denville area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denville Hotel Denville
Denville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.