We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean, friendly and reasonable $$$” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Jackson Drive, Cranford, NJ 07016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Elgin, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely clean, friendly and reasonable $$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our 2nd. time staying at the Homewood Suites and we couldn't be happier, the staff were very helpful, the rooms were very clean and spacious. The only con was the bedroom TV sits on the dresser top which makes it a bit hard to view but aside from that it is a very wonderful place to stay and we will return again on our next trip to N.J.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms we stayed in were all very good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Paul B,

Thank you for your 5-star excellent rating of the property! In addition, your loyalty as a repeat guest clearly shows the strength of the property to provide consistent excellent service.

When booking your next stay, please feel free to contact me directly. I would welcome a moment to speak to you, a loyal guest.

Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    40
    26
    19
See reviews for
116
19
11
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a great hotel - good design and very comfortable. A home away from home.
Very enjoyable to stay in. I stayed with a friend and we both thought it was great! For business travellers looking for peace and quiet and a "home" feel, this was an excellent hotel. Liked the free popcorn too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Stacey C,

Thank you for your great, 5-star review of Homewood Suites - Cranford, NJ! It is the culture of the hotel and the Homewood brand to make all our guests feel at "home", whether staying for 1 night or longer.

If ever staying in the area again, please do not hesitate to contact the property directly for your next stay. We have numerous negotiated rates available for local companies, as well as great discounts for a weekend stay.

We look forward to hearing from you. As always, the greatest reward is referrals. Thanks so much!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Check in was a breeze & room was fine. The heating unit did not work well eventhough it was at the correct setting. The only issue I have was that I wanted to extend my stay till 5pm. I was willing to pay & I was told by Karen (i think that's her name at the front desk ) no that they don't do that 1pm was the latest. Then she tried to cover it up by saying they were oversold when in fact the property was no oversold because I stayed till 7pm with another guest & the same amount of cars were still there. I spoke to the guest the next day who stated they were not sold out. I would be upset if I was the business owner knowing that there was potential revenue to be made. That's just not the Hilton way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello MannyScotch,

Thank you for your 4-star review of the property. Also, please accept my apologies for you not being able to have the 5pm check-out. I am unsure as to why you were communicated as such; something we will certainly look into. In most cases, we accommodate a late check-out of 3pm without fees, based on the nights' occupancy. We may have been sold out on your specific room type as well; but without any exact reservation information I am unable to see what happened.

Nonetheless, your comments and feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to contact the propery directly so we can discuss the situation in depth and address accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property as well!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas with our family of 5 (includes 3 teenage boys). We had stayed here about 4 years ago and it was fine. We opted for it again because we liked the amount of space a two room suite provides and the breakfast option. Unfortunately, the place hasn't been touched, or cleaned, since then. Everything was old, stained and smelly. Our room smelled like fish, the kitchen floor was dirty, the carpet was stained, the duvets were stained and had pulled threads all over them. Despite it being a vacation week, breakfast still ended at 9:00 am, even on Christmas day (admittedly, I hadn't checked that when I made the reservation). No maid service Christmas day (understandable, but it would have been nice to know). The hallways smelled and had stained carpet. The elevator jerked as if it was going to stop mid-floor. Overall, a terrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Sally J,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are committed to exceptional service and are disappointed you were not happy with your stay. Although we at the property feel our proeprty does exceed cleanliness standards; we do realize a busy hotel will create additional attention to detail. Please contact the property directly so we can address your concerns directly and earn your loyalty. Thank you and Happy New Year,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great Value! Stayed here for two weeks and I have to say it was kind of like "home away from home"
The one bedroom suite had a kitchen, living room and two flat panel large screen tv's.
The morning breakfast was varied and included a "hot breakfast". The evening reception included complimentary light foods with beer and wine. The evening food was good enough to substitute for a meal instead of eating out which saved time as well as money. The choices varied Mon. thru Thurs both weeks and based on the monthly menu - it tasted fresh and I would recommend.
The only disappointment is the work out facility with one eliptical and two treadmills with no free weights or bench. The do give a free pass to Bally's for those more inclined to workout with intensity.
The staff was accomodating and friendly and I would recommend this hotel for us road warriors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Glenn55Southlake_TX!

Thank you for your outstanding and accurate review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark-Cranford! We strive for exemplary service and your stay is a prime example of such. In addition, we are happy you felt "at home" with us; it is the culture of the entire brand! We do hope if your travels bring you back to the area, we will have an opportunity to welcome you back home. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent price and excellent room. We were traveling around the holidays with a toddler; when we arrived at the hotel the pac and play was in the room and ready for the transfer of the sleepy babe from care to hotel room :) The rooms are very spacious and very convenient for a family with a small baby. There is not a restaurant on site but plenty in the area and plenty of take out menus available in the hotel lobby. Breakfast in the morning was very generous and includes belgian waffles. The staff were very friendly. We visit NJ for the holidays often and will be returning to this hotel. It is also located right off the Garden State Parkway which was super convenient for the trip home to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello TJ C,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! We strive for exemplary service and are happy we exceeded your expectations. Please feel free to contact the Sales Department prior to booking your next stay; to ensure we continue providing you exemplary service. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My sister and I visited New York City Dec. 2012. We wanted a place to stay that was safe for two women and was easily accessible to New York. The hotel was very clean. Our room a king size suite was clean a spacious. The bed was very comfortable. We were served a continental breakfast every morning with a large variety. They also offered free evening meals but we did not take advantage of that. There are at least two train stations near the hotel. Cranford and Linden stations. We chose the Cranford station because we felt safe in the town. We had to change trains at Newark Penn station but it was easy. That train took us right into Penn Station, Manhattan. I believe the Linden station would have taken us into Grand Central without stops. The train ride was about 30-40 minutes. The hotel offered free shuttle back and forth to the train station. We took advantage of that but on Sunday drove our vehicle directly to the station and enjoyed the free parking. The staff was friendly and respectful. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello AdamOhio,

Thank you for your great review! We are happy you were able to enjoy most of our amenities; and hope you wull take advantage of the full hot dinner buffet Monday - Thursday evenings on your next trip.
We do recommend catching the train out of the Linden Train Station. It is the same distance from the hotel as the Cranford Train Station; however, Linden provides direct access to New York Penn Station.
Please contact the hotel prior to making a reservation for your next stay; to ensure we continue the great service you receive! Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Drive, Cranford, NJ 07016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.