We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 months at homewood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Jackson Drive, Cranford, NJ 07016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“8 months at homewood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

my mother and i stayed at homewood suites for 8 months, as a result of a fire in our home. the staff was exceptionally courteous and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, from check-in through check-out. any requests were handled promptly and to our satisfaction. we stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom suite, which actually felt more like an apartment, compared to a hotel room. with the availability of breakfast and dinner, very little money was spent on food (oatmeal raisin cookies are beyond fantastic).

for those wanting to visit nyc and/or philadelphia, they offer free shuttle service to the train station. the neighborhood is safe and quiet, in addition to being near newark airport, the garden state parkway, routes 1&9 and other major highways.

i recommended homewood suites to others, as a result of their homes being flooded during hurricane irene. they were as impressed w/the level of service, accommodations, cleanliness, location, value, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    78
    45
    28
    25
See reviews for
131
22
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Great location.....close enough for a new York vacation. Our family of 5 spent a week here and did a daily commute into Manhattan. Saved a ton of money on meals and had a nice big clean room. Safe and quiet neighborhood with lots of restaurants close by

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have stayed here several times because of the suites and location's convenience to relatives. Front desk staff is usually very helpful and friendly. Beds are very comfortable.
Hotel is a maze and some of the rooms are a very long walk from elevators. Elderly mom cannot make it without a wheelchair. Showers need more grab bars for safety.
During our most recent stay at this hotel we became acutely aware of the outdated and sometimes broken furnishings. Sofa bed, in particular was broken and unusable. This presented a problem, so the staff gave us a room across the hall (couch in that room was broken as well)
Great idea...except for the fact that my young teenage daughter was the one that had to move....and sleeping alone in a hotel room is worrisome, especially on the first floor.
Also considering the fact that on a previous visit to this hotel, the same daughter was showering, while the rest of us were at breakfast, and a housekeeper came into the room and started cleaning! The luggage was clearly still in the room, we hadn't checked out yet and it was only 9am! Needless to say, she was traumatized. Yes, they gave us a free night, but the emotional repercussions remain; it's creepy when a stranger enters your room while you're in the shower!
Also, the breakfast leaves much to be desired. First of all, breakfast ends too early on weekdays (9am). The fruit salad was slimy, the eggs rubbery, the coffee tasted like water.No waffles because the machine was broken.
Room furnishings (except for the beds) need attention/upgrading. Breakfast/coffee needs much improvement. Internet connection needs to be checked, as it is very slow. Better signage to help find the place is needed.
After all, this is a Hilton Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed at this location for four nights while in town of business. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The location is kind of out of the way, but not so far it was difficult to get around. It is close to the Garden State Parkway for a quick commute.

The morning breakfast was good, as was the evening dinner, reception. The wireless Internet worked well in the rooms and lobby. Parking was free and the the area around the hotel was mostly residential.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at the Homewood Suites in NJ and found my stay to be great. The staff is very friendly and the hotel had everything I needed, great breakfast, dinner Monday thru Thursday, business center, close to NY city yet far enough to give me a feeling of a cozy community.

I only have two complaints, it was very difficult to find, I drove back and forth before I spotted it. The hotel sits back from the street and it is very easy to miss.The way the hotel has numbered the rooms is somewhat confusing, other than that, I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Spent one night here because it was handy to my business meeting in the morning. If you are driving north on the Garden State Parkway, call for directions. Getting to the hotel when exiting the Parkway is a challenge. The first impression was a bit off-putting. Hotel sits back from the road and parking is an issue. Single front door was permanently ajar by several inches and appears to have been that way for a while. Property looks worn in the lobby and is not overly inviting. Check-in was professionally handled. Room is slightly smaller than a standard Homewood but was clean and comfortable. Took advantage of the free dinner – food quality was just average. Same thing can be said for breakfast. Having said all of this, the rate was attractive for this area of New Jersey. For a quick overnight, it was acceptable. Would not pick this property for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel when we went to NJ for my 30th HS reunion, though it is not the town I grew up in, it was near the venue where the reunion event was being held. For the money, this hotel meets your needs with a decent stay, though we tend to like a higher-end hotel, but there is no arguing about the value and the staff was courteous and helpful.

The good:

Near our reunion venue.
Near the train station with shuttle service to and from.
Near the highway.
Breakfast included & store at front desk for drinks & snacks.
Gym available.
Large size room/suite for your money with refrigerator, kitchen sink, coffee-maker.
While decor is somewhat dated, the rooms were very clean.

The bad:

Don't leave ANY valuables in your car. Our car was stolen during our stay when the hotel parking lot was full and we had to park in the adjacent assisted living facility lot (the Atria), which is apparently shared with the hotel. We accidentally left a 2nd copy of our car key (my husband had meant to give it to me but forgot) in the car which is how they stole it, otherwise it probably would have "just" been broken into. Lost a bag of paid bills, etc. too so this was a real hassle! But I can't really blame the hotel. They were more than accommodating and compensated us with a free room and free late checkout/early departure the next day - helped us call police and car rental agency. There were "park at your own risk" signs at the lot in which we parked, but we somehow didn't think it would be so risky at a Homewood Suites in Cranford, NJ. Well Cranford is not too far from Newark, the car theft capitol of the world, so I guess that's why you have to be careful. Again, I can't really blame the hotel, however, had there been enough spaces in the hotel lot when we came back from my HS reunion event, perhaps the car wouldn't have been broken into as that lot was busier might have deterred burglars.

More bad:

Confusing to find your room - hallways is a maze!
Lighting is all UV, the older flat-lighted type, so not very cozy.
Rooms, hotel in general is somewhat dated so decor leaves a lot to be desired, however it was certainly fine for the price charged.
Not enough parking when there are events (as explained above).
Being near train station and highway may be one reason thieves find the hotel convenient.
The ventilation system is older type so is noisy and I was very much aware when it was on or off during its cycles. I was either too hot or too cold and didn't sleep well.
Bed was fine for price but could have been more comfortable (older mattresses?).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Drive, Cranford, NJ 07016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.