We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My birthday treat - BTW I love garlic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garlic Rose

Garlic Rose
28 North Avenue, Cranford, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Cranford
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With a garlic infused menu and decor, we are one of the most unique Cranford restaurants around. Your lunch promises to be as memorable as possible with the Garlic Rose. Our dishes are flavored with the best garlic available. From a hint of the herb to a powerful mouthful, we can customize your dish to your personal liking. Enjoy your lunch with friends and family at Garlic Rose.
Blackburn, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“My birthday treat - BTW I love garlic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great garlic food, very tasty. No ice cream on the menu for the grandchildren but they went and got a couple of tubs from the shop next door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service ok, food nothing special, had to wait a long time to be served. Had been there before and it was pretty good, this time was a disappointment

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you love garlic, you have to stop here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant was clean and the service was very good. We tried the sangria and it was wonderful. The home made bread was delicious dipped in their garlic olive oil. They also serve roasted garlic that you can spread on the bread. Yummy! There were 8 of us and we all ordered something different. We had pasta, eggplant, chicken and crab cakes. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. I would go back next time I visit our family that lives in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Eight of us celebrated my son-in-laws birthday at the Garlic Rose. The meal began with warm italian bread, roasted garlic, and an olive oil dipping sauce. I could have made a meal out of that. From the appetizers to the main course, we were all very happy. The food was delicious and plentiful. Service was attentive and well paced for a relaxing meal. Our daughter had her 14 month old with here; they were very accommodating.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh Garlic Rose !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of my favorite Italian Places to date ! The Garlic Rose is elegant & sophisticated. It always has a nice quiet vibe & is perfect for birthday's or other special occasion dinners. If you sign up for the reward program they have you get coupons very frequently that are at least $10-15 off. They always send a birthday & even 1/2 birthday coupon which in my opinion is just too cute. They have an excellent location in downtown Cranford, NJ. They also give you a full bulb of roasted garlic with your bread if you ask & it is amazing. The staff is always very polite & I enjoy this restaurant very much!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garlic Rose also viewed

Madison, Morris County
 

Been to Garlic Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garlic Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.