We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, small place to have an organic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Toute Heure

A Toute Heure
232 Centennial Ave, Cranford, NJ 07016-3137
+1 908-276-6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Toute Heure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: Cranford train station (Raritan Valley Line of NJTransit)
Description: A Toute Heure is a local bistro located in the Centennial Village of Cranford, owned by Andrea & Jim Carbine and open since May of 2007. Offering lunch & dinner, and two special services - a "Last Sunday" brunch and a "Second Saturday" lunch. The menu changes with the seasons each month and features the finest ingredients that local markets, farms, and gardens have to offer - all cleverly combined and offered in delicious dishes prepared by Executive Chef Kara Decker and Pastry Chef Jessica Knik.
Cranford, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, small place to have an organic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is great if you are into organic, modernised meals. They have fresh cheeses, meats, veggies, and fish. Every day they update their menu in order to include the fresh catch of the day. It's expensive, so we only go for special occasions, but it's well worth it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One last time before heading south”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent as usual. The table and service are fine. Starting with Sara's mussels is always a great way to begin a special night. Wide variety of dinner options will satisfy everyone's desire. But save room for dessert. The perfect way to end the night.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Left Before we could eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were on time for our 9:15 reservation - and were told it would be about a 10 minute wait. This was our first visit here - we new it was pricey and was a BYOB - but the dining room is shockingly small. For the kind of money we would have paid I would prefer a better ambiance. There is no bar at which to wait so we had the option of standing by the entrance - standing outside next to the heater (it was a very cold night) - or going across the street to the owner's new place (also that has no bar). Our 10 minute wait turned into 20, with no end in sight. The owner was EXTREMELY apologetic and did come over multiple times to apologize for the wait - but in the end we just opted to leave... As I said - very pricey, and quite honestly after looking at the menu for 20 minutes it was just not my kind of food. I am giving an average rating instead of less due to the owner's attentiveness.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern new jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went there for last minute friday night dinner with my husband and 2 young girls...Perfect. Casual, relaxing, food was fantastic as usual...service great.....girls loved pizza, mussels and steak frites....and finishing off with warm cookied and milk shot ...well it was perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Best as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

LOVE this place! Met a friend for lunch and ordered what I had been eyeing all month! The Black Bean soup was superb. then I ordered the veggie sandwich with roasted beats on a beer bread- the most amazing thing ever. and It came with a chocolate chip cookie. Friend got the pork pot pie and very much enjoyed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Toute Heure also viewed

 

Been to A Toute Heure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Toute Heure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.