We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps Getting Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Toute Heure

A Toute Heure
232 Centennial Ave, Cranford, NJ 07016-3137
+1 908-276-6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Toute Heure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: Cranford train station (Raritan Valley Line of NJTransit)
Description: A Toute Heure is a local bistro located in the Centennial Village of Cranford, owned by Andrea & Jim Carbine and open since May of 2007. Offering lunch & dinner, and two special services - a "Last Sunday" brunch and a "Second Saturday" lunch. The menu changes with the seasons each month and features the finest ingredients that local markets, farms, and gardens have to offer - all cleverly combined and offered in delicious dishes prepared by Executive Chef Kara Decker and Pastry Chef Jessica Knik.
Rahway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were here to celebrate our 4th anniversary last month. It was our 3rd time dining at ATH and it just keeps getting better each time. Impeccable service, well conceived dishes and a warm atmosphere combine to make this a destination restaurant in the area. It is pricey? Yes. However, they are serving up quality ingredients, from local farmers, prepared to order and the menu changes weekly. You'll always find something new and exciting here. The highlights or our meal included an appetizer of fried pig's ear over salad with buttermilk dressing and buttered popcorn ice cream. There is outdoor dining for when the weather is accommodating and BYOB which is nice as you can view the menu online beforehand for the week and get an idea of what you may want to order and match your wine accordingly. I think we'll be making this one of our top places to celebrate special occasions from now on.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    15
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A very high priced, unhealthy, tiny portion meal in a below average location on a busy County road - save your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Quality food (yes) with fancy descriptions but VERY expensive and just not worth the price based on this reviewers opinion. All of the food is prepared with heavy buttery and creamy sauces - if you care at all about your health, weight or living past 50, you'll skip this place. If you do go, make sure you and your dinner guests have an adequate supply of Rolaids handy for dessert.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yet again AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Wow wow wow! We came for our anniversary and what a culinary feast! We started with charred octopus app and the Washington st cheese- best octopus we have had (outside if Greece) and the cheese that came with a strawberry jam and honey - yum. We also got fresh bread with butter with squash and cilantro was just like nothing we have ever had before. Entree: I got the catch of the day: black bass in a light smoked tomato sauce with thin sliced veggies on top and 2 amazing handmade ravioli with amazing cheese which was just the best. Hubby got pork chop which he thoroughly enjoyed and left nothing remaining. Dessert: 3 scoops of ice cream! The basil,Rocky road and mint choc chip. What a way to celebrate our anniversary. Top notch service and the owners are the nicest, friendliest people we've met. Need to make our reservations for next month!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJoenophile
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, casual atmoshpere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by first visit to ATH. Heard a lot about it and was hoping not to be disappointed - we were not! Many specials to compliment the main menu. Chorizo Pizza with fried egg was nice but the rabbit special was out of this world. Lamb special excellent as well. Service very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Tables a little small but cozy enough. While not cheap, we will definitely go back to this BYO.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Best in Cranford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

No doubt about it, A Tout Heure is a wonderful experience. Had winning lunch and dinners. Food quality and inventiveness will make you forget about the prices.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Toute Heure also viewed

 

Been to A Toute Heure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Toute Heure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.