We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the campsite and heard the wolves howling all night. Lots of fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakota Wolf Preserve

Lakota Wolf Preserve
89 Mount Pleasant Road, Columbia, NJ 07832
877-SEE-WOLF
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
brick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed at the campsite and heard the wolves howling all night. Lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very informative presentation. Beautiful wolves and we loved the part about the fox too. On our walk up to the preserve, the van was too crowded, we saw deer. We stayed overnight at the campground and loved listening to the wolves occasionally howl. Lots of fun for our whole family.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    27
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Interesting 1/2 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Worth the trip - especially if you are interested in wolves and/or animal rescues. It's a .6 mile hike from the parking lot up hill over rocks to see the wolves or you can take their shuttle so if anyone has trouble walking just make sure the shuttle is running before you go if you need it ( if there is snow it probably won't run). Also, there are two tours a day so make sure you get here at the right time . Finally, the wolves are behind two fences so you really can't get good photos unless you come on a special (and much more expensive) photo tour that gets you behind the first gate.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, NL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was my second visit to see the wolves. It's a .6 mile hike from the parking lot up hill over rocks to see the wolves or you can take their shuttle so if anyone has trouble walking just make sure the shuttle is running before you go ( if there is snow it probably won't run). Also, there are two tours a day so make sure you get here at the right time . Finally, the wolves are behind two fences so you really can't get good photos unless you come on a special (and much more expensive photo tour that gets you behind the first gate).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Went there while camping in the area with 4 kids ages 5,7,11,15. Even the 15 yo liked it. Very interesting, and the howeling was my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very much worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

It was cold that morning. Real cold. The temperature was hovering at 20°F. With the wind blowing hard, the 40 mph gusts brought the wind chill to right around the zero mark. It was with some trepidation we bundled up and started on our journey. A journey we had talked about for 3 or 4 years. Each discussion about this trip always ended in the same way. $640.00 is a lot of money for 2 hours, and we talked ourselves out of it.
It was that time of year again. The spring would come soon and the animals in the woods still had their winter coats. Over the past few years I saw my wife’s interest in these animals grow. Pictures were on her phone, on her PC wallpaper, on her tablet, everywhere. This time we would do it. This time I would take a chance and spend the money and see what it was all about. I e-mailed the address on the website and set up a reservation for a private photographic tour on Wednesday March 26th, 2014.
We left that morning in the dark around 6:00am and headed for the drive to the Lakota Wolf Preserve in Columbia, New Jersey. In about an hour we reached our destination. A small store at the entrance to a campground. We called the provided phone number and the voice on the other end told us they would be right with us.
Within a few minutes a truck arrived and the driver Tom introduced himself as our guide. We grabbed our cameras and got into the truck for the steep ½ mile ride up the mountain. I offered to pay Tom but he told us we could wait until after the tour. We reached the gate and Tom opened the locks.
Then it started.
The most unique tour I have ever been on.
There they were.
Right in front of us.
A beautiful pack of timber wolves.
Tom began by telling us all about the preserve and providing a lot of information about the animals. He opened up several portals in the fence that allowed unobscured views of the animals. We started shooting pictures as fast as we could.
For me the cold and wind were almost non-existent as the sight of these predators being so close put any discomfort out of my mind.
My wife was having a tough time dealing with the cold as it was getting to her fingers. Tom graciously offer her a heating pack for her hands and she started to warm up.
It is hard to describe the feeling you get when looking these great powerful creatures in the eye. Yes, they were that close. You almost wanted to reach out to pet them which is a definite No. Even though they are in a fenced in area, these are wild animals and need to be respected as such.
From there the tour moved on to 3 additional wolf packs. Each unique and beautiful. There was something about those eyes. Mesmerizing. The beautiful yellow orange color, the stalking stare. It was all there and it was clear how they got such an evil reputation. But there was no evil here. Just nature’s power and beauty bestowed upon the beautiful beast that graces the cold March woods.
We watched as they moved quickly from spot to spot. The animals movement as well as our excitement made getting the perfect shot a challenge, but in a fun way. From time to time Tom would throw some treats in an area to change their direction and give us the best possibility to capture perfection in motion.
Although this was probably the fastest 2 hours of my life, Tom allowed us ample time at each portal and did not let us move on until we were satisfied with our pictures. It hardly felt like we were on any type of schedule at all.
Overall we came back with about 800 pictures. Some of them stunning shots of one of natures most incredible creatures.
Now to answer the question…Was it worth the money. Without a doubt, Absolutely Yes.
You cannot put a price on this experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakota Wolf Preserve also viewed

Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lakota Wolf Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakota Wolf Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.