We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolves, wolves, wolves...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakota Wolf Preserve

Lakota Wolf Preserve
89 Mount Pleasant Road, Columbia, NJ 07832
877-SEE-WOLF
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wolves, wolves, wolves...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Twice a day the small school bus takes you up to the wolf preserve. They come to the fence for feeding. They have different types of wolves in different fenced in areas. You feel very safe. They also have bob cats and other critters!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    25
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Mordor, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The most amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went there with my family, and we all had a great time. I was just blown away. This is partly a rescue organization--the animals they have were all captured by people or born in captivity. often they were kept in roadside zoos or were kept as pets until they became too big or wild to be handled. So the animals are not afraid of people. They come right down to the fences and will curl up and nap in front of you, or run around, whatever they feel like doing. They aren't shy. The animals are simply gorgeous. After years of peering into zoo exhibits to see if we could spot the animal in the distance it was a treat to see them up close and personal.

The preserve has four wolf packs, each a different type of wolf. They also have bobcats and foxes. The people who run the place are sensible, smart and passionate about what they do, and that becomes apparent as they guide the tours and teach you about the animals. I knew about wolves and bobcats already, but I still learned things, and the presentation on foxes was terrific. I knew almost nothing about them.

I can't say enough good things about this place. Everyone in our group, from the nine year old to the fifty plus year old, was enthralled. The howling at the end was almost magical. I highly recommend the preserve.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The girls loved it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

took the Girl Scout troop there, and the kids just loved seeing the animals and hearing about them... would have thought there would be more animals (maybe there are now). for the 'older' groups not a fun hike up the side of the hill. Had one woman than needed to stop every few minutes as the strain was too much

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakotawolf, Owner at Lakota Wolf Preserve, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so glad the scouts enjoyed the trip. Please know you don't have to make the hike to the preserve everyone is offered a ride on our shuttle bus or they can choose to hike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An uphill hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We did not take part of the official Lakota Wolf Preserve tour. Instead we walked up to the outside of the preserve on the day it was closed...we were able to see several wolves along the perimeter of the preserve in addition to a bobcat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lakota Wolf Preserve is amazing. You are able to get within 4 feet of the animals while the owners/trainers talk to you about how they care for them and give you a history of the animals and their backgrounds. Even though there is a few feet and fencing between you and the wolves, it is still an amazing experience.

You can tell they love the animals and that the animals are happy and well taken care of. The animals are not very interested in anyone except the owners (who they seem to adore). No wonder the hiker below was unable to see them just by walking up to the fenced in area when no tour was going on.

Since ticket sales and donations help keep the preserve going, why would you not go during the allotted times and experience the tour? You will not be disappointed at all!! My husband, myself and our two boys 5 & 7 thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to come back again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakota Wolf Preserve also viewed

Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lakota Wolf Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakota Wolf Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.