We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to Delaware Water Gap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Taylor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Taylor
Save
You added Camp Taylor to your Saves list
85 Mt Pleasant Rd, Columbia, NJ 07832   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great access to Delaware Water Gap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Camp Taylor was a nice gateway to the Delaware Water Gap; it provides good access via car to the National Park, and via a (very steep) footpath that is on a trail 2.2 miles from the gap. The forest was peaceful, amenities nothing special.

We also saw the wolf reserve, very cool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    3
    3
    12
See reviews for
29
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Initially when we made accommodations we chose Camp Taylor due to its proximity to the Delaware Water Gap and the fact that they accepted dogs. My first experience of Camp Taylor was very good. The lady taking the accommodations over the phone was courteous, helpful and competent.
We reserved two campsites with the understanding that each site could easily accommodate two tents. This was only true for one of the sites. The other site had only one place that could accommodate a ten by ten tent. The other space was full of jagged rocks and debris.
My son arrived later that evening 9:00 pm. He was greeted with rudeness and actually was chastised for his late arrival by one of the female staff.
The area around the campsites are picked dry of kindling. Consequently the woods around the sites lost a natural and verdant quality.
Since we took a primitive site with the understanding that we’d be away from noise and closer to nature I understand that you lose proximity to bathrooms. The port-a-potty near us was nonetheless never cleaned. The bathrooms were dirty and the sign in the women’s bathroom indicating when they were cleaned last wasn’t filled out.
The trails in the vicinity of the camp are very nice however. And a special treat is hearing the baying of the wolves at the Lakota reserves. They are beautiful and a must see.
However, one of the nights we were there was blaring head banging style, hip hop music coming from a site not far from us. There should have been attendants going through the sites periodically to assure a quality experience for everyone.
In general I can’t say that the people running the place genuinely care about providing a quality family style camping experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampTaylor, Owner at Camp Taylor, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am sorry you were not satisfied with your campsites, but our record showed that you specifically requested those sites by number. It is possible the woman who took your reservation for the 6 adults was unaware of the size of the tents or thought since you requested 82+83 that you had seen the sites on a previous visit. We have had more than 6 people in those two sites many times before without any problems. We had no other primitive sites available, but offered to mark electric/water sites, however you chose not to move to that area of the campground.
When your reservation was taken, you were asked what time you expected everyone to arrive and told all members had to be in before 9pm. According to your form, you stated the expected time of arrival would be at 5pm. Had your son arrived at 9pm as you claimed, there would have been no problem. However, our records show that it was in fact 9:47pm that he arrived at the office, which meant he could not have made it to the site until 10pm or later. Someone just arriving and starting to set up camp at that hour has a negative effect on the quality experience for families with children around him as many had already turned in for the night.
Nonetheless, all campers are told the quiet hours are from 11pm-9am and that if anyone is disturbing them, to call the office number on the map and it would be handled immediately. We do in fact have two employees that go out at 11pm and walk the entire camp to make sure no one is loud enough to be disturbing the sites around them. Had you told us that the music was too loud for your enjoyment, even though it was apparently prior to quiet hours, we would have gladly asked the other campers to lower the volume. We have more than 400 acres and, unfortunately, we do not have enough manpower to be everywhere at once. We try our best to keep things quiet, which is one of the reasons we require everyone to arrive and be set up before others are sleeping.
As for the woods not having a verdant quality because the kindling had been picked up, we are located on a mountain and much of the campground is old forest with large trees which prevents most of the sunlight from reaching the forest floor. Verdant means lush with green vegetation, which would require rich soil and sunlight for the vegetation to grow. Because of the various beetles, we do not allow people to bring in firewood from outside. Therefore, understanding the hardship this may cause some people to have to buy wood, we permit campers to pick up wood and kindling that has fallen naturally which also helps reduce the danger of forest fire by removing surplus fuels.
The women’s bathroom as well as the men’s bathroom and showers are gone through several times per day, for which we are continually being complimented. I am not sure what you refer to as a sign in the women’s bathroom for when it was last cleaned, not being filled out, since we have no such form in our bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed in a "rustic cabin." I figured rustic meant four walls and a few bunk beds- instead i found a beautiful little log cabin with a small heater, overhead light, minifridge and electrical sockets!
I must admit, i was pretty thrilled to be able to wake upto a big mug of hot coffee, right inside my bunk.
Cabin two is situated on a bubbling stream and has a firepit and BBQ- being able to just sit and listen to the water babble, interrupted only by the occasional howl of a wolf, was amazing!
The hike up to the preserve is super easy, and the guided tour is a lot of fun- very informative!
The couple who owns the camp is very friendly and helpful, and the bathrooms are IMMACULATE!
this was perfect for "glamping."
For those seeking more adventure, there are primitive tent sites available, as well.
For those new to camping, i think the rustic cabins are PERFECT. It was only my boyfriend's second time camping, and i think he is in love with it now :)

Room Tip: for rustic cabins, ask for number 2- it situated right on stream, and the owner's favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampTaylor, Owner at Camp Taylor, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Robin,
Thank you so much for the kind words. We try very hard to deliver a genuine outdoor experience to our customers. Thank you for noticing the effort we put into keeping the facilities clean. We are always happy to hear of new camping enthusiasts and hope since your boyfriend is now hooked on camping, you will make Camp Taylor a frequent destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

First let me say I loved this campground. Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the lady behind the counter when u first arrived could of come across as friendlier. It didn't bother me so much as it did my wife. She also resented the 25 cent showers, but I think it helps in keeping the showers clean. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband & I have been staying at Camp Taylor for 8 years & have been seasonal campers for 7 years. There are absolutely no other campgrounds in NJ that are as natural, quiet & beautiful as this one. The campsites are enormous for any campground & there are numerous ones where you barely can see your neighbor. If you are tent campers you are in for a real treat. This is REAL camping, the sites are large & there is so much foliage between sites that once again you really can't see your neighbors. Anyone with any experience in camping knows this is the exception rather than the rule.

My favorite thing about CT is their philosophy about keeping everything natural. No gaudy campsites around. All seasonal campsites are well maintained & in good order. The pond is such a natural, relaxed setting. I sit at the bench by the pond in the mornings & watch the kids discover pond life. They get so excited just looking at tadpoles, frogs & fish. They spend hours & hours swimming in the pond & as I told one set of parents you don't see kids making their own fun & using their imaginations anymore & not one purchased toy in sight! Week after week I see happy relaxed children & their parents. If you are looking for constant whirlwind entertainment this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a relaxing weekend getting in touch with nature & playing with your children, I don't think you will be disappointed.

I also would like to comment on some reasons why you pay for extras at CT. To maintain such a pristine campground costs money & the recent recession hit hard for everyone in NJ. The area was hit very hard by Sandy & repairs are costly. The firewood may be a bit pricey but with all of the fallen dead wood around the campsites, there is hardly any need to purchase any. We have been to numerous campgrounds where you couldn't find a twig near your site. Not here, there is plenty to gather & perfect job for restless children waiting for dinner to be cooked. So unless you are just plain lazy, there is no reason to pay for it. So sure you might be paying for extras but this is Jersey & nothing's cheap here.

As far as security, this is the safest place in Jersey. Every night camp personnel walk through the campground at quiet hour making sure everyone is quiet & safe & its amazing how everyone does respect this policy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Family stayed for weekend with preteen kids. Campgrounds were very well maintained. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walked up to wolf preserve which was lovely. We liked the site with water/electric. With cost of wood/showers it was still a very affordable, fun weekend. Site owners set up a haunted house walk through this weekend that was really well done. Primitive sites booked early because of national parks shutdown, so had a fair amount of overflow from them - glad there was a quiet time after 11p enforced. Really great place, will visit again.

Room Tip: Preview your site before choosing as recommended by staff. Cannot reserve ahead for one night, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great people there who run that camp. I read some bad reviews and please dont read into them. they have to be burned out roudy folks. I took my son camping this summer and the staff were so kind. yes you do have to buy firewood there but 90% of all campsites do that its because of the bugs. i do have a little issue and its little many sites are full of stones, but your in the woods its like complaining of sand at the ocean again it is minor and the staff ets you pick the best site you want. I picked one that was almost fully on a deck it was awesome and very secluded.

Room Tip: be friendly and talk to the owners they want to please you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Taylor

Address: 85 Mt Pleasant Rd, Columbia, NJ 07832
Location: United States > New Jersey > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Camp Taylor Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Taylor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.