We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colts Neck Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colts Neck Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Route 537 West, Colts Neck, NJ 07722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

stayed here when in the area for a wedding and felt hotel was a good value. Place was a little dated, especially old pink bathroom but you could call it charming and more interesting than typical chain hotel. Not much in way of amenities, small exercise room and no pool, but continental breakfast was fresh and convenient. Room was large, clean and comfortable and served our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We only stayed one night here. The room was nice, clean. Had a very old feel to it though. It was good for what we wanted. We were in Freehold to spend time with friends and didn't want to travel back home all in one day. Bathroom could be updated though. You had to be careful with the handle on the toilet. Desk clerk was very nice though. Would probably not stay for an extended time, but for one night, it was OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walls and ceiling are paper thin. Guests come in at 11:30pm and just them walking around is like thunder on the ceiling, till 1:30am. Road noise from 2 roads. We could here next room guests talking and urinating at 6 am . I got 4 hrs sleep.
Pillows are lumps.
Front desk girl was unhelpful. Had to ask where the room was? How to get in and out of the place? What time was checkout? Cmon, isn't that her job? Not worth 14 cents, yet alone $140.00
If you must, insist on top floor.

Room Tip: top floor only and only in emergency....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colts Neck hotels

Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Colt's Neck Inn for two nights over the weekend to attend a wedding in the area. What a DUMP! We knew this was an old historic hotel from the 1700's, but we didn't know that it hadn't been updated since then. It was not charming as some of the other reviews mentioned. It was old and dilapidated. When we checked into our room, we were overtaken by the musty/dirty water/mold smell. It was horrible. The bed was hard and lumpy, and left us stiff both mornings. To make matters worse, the sheets and comforter were old and ratty looking. There was a 20inch Tube TV in the room that looked to be about 15 years old. The worst part was definitely the smell! We had to drive 20 minutes to a drugstore to buy various air freshners to make it tolerable. Overall, it seemed like the owners put no effort into maintaining this hotel and really don't care about the people staying there. The only reason they get any business is probably because there are very few hotels in the area. However, if you need a place to stay near colt's neck, there in a hampton inn about 15-20 min away in Neptune. We stayed there the night we arrived in the area, not realizing how horrible the colt's neck inn would be. The 15-20 min drive to the hampton is well worth it to not have to stay in this awful place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone because it is very charming and quaint-Great place to go and relax. Also the staff is very nice especially Courtney, Grace, Karen, and the gentleman at the front desk!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Colts Neck Inn is a wonderfully charming place to stay! If you’re looking for a quiet get away in the country I would definitely recommend it here. Living in the city for so long I almost forgot how serene and beautiful nature can be. The Hotel has a rustic ambience, great decor and a welcome home feel that is extended by the staff as well. Anything you need from directions to local information and attractions can be answered; all you have to do is ask for Grace, the hotel manager.

Room Tip: Our room had the most peaceful and relaxing tree right outside the window. It was awesome to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

There were nasty hairs in the bed so they gave us another room. Carpet felt dirty, bathroom nasty plastic with rusty shower fitting. Whole place smelled of damp. Room was dark - insufficient lighting. I have never stayed in a worse hotel during any trip to the USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colts Neck Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colts Neck Inn Hotel

Address: 6 Route 537 West, Colts Neck, NJ 07722
Location: United States > New Jersey > Colts Neck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colts Neck Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Colts Neck Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colts Neck Hotel Colts Neck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colts Neck Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.