We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colts Neck Inn Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Colts Neck Inn Restaurant
6 Route 537 West, Colts Neck, NJ 07722
(732) 409-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Colts Neck
Price range: $15 - $43
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

After reading several of the "not so good" reviews, I was a little hesitant to have dinner at the Colt's Neck Inn. But I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. We had dinner at the bar, where there was a nice mix a people. Our bartender was friendly and the service was excellent. I had the seafood sampler and filet, it was a lot of food and both were very good. And the wine and beer selections were good . I would definately go back and I would give the Colts Neck Inn a solid B+.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    4
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't Have Your Wedding or Any Important Event Here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Simply the worst place to have any type of important event. The managers/Owners Faye and George are very, very rude. Also they are very unorganized and have an excuse for everything. The have little or no experience with Weddings. George was in charge of the wedding and he was no where to be found most of the night. The DJ had to organize everything and also serve as the wedding coordinator (which is not his job). They even made the DJ call the tables up to the buffet (this is the servers job, not the DJ's). And if that wasn't bad enough they thougt the wedding was to start at 5:00 but it was scheduled for 6:00. Faye argued with the Brides mother about it and expected her to change all of the plans less than two hours before the wedding, are you kidding me!!!!

Stay away from this place they will mess up your entire event.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a copy of the letter I wrote to the Colts Neck Inn Resturant...

My family (party of 3) had dinner here on Sunday 9/18/2011 at around 5 pm. We had two rib eye steak dinners and one kids chicken tender meal, the bill was approx $75.00 and change. This was one of the worst meals we have ever had.. We both ordered the steaks med. well and both were cooked so well it was like eating shoe leather, the baked patatos were hard as rocks and the corn on the cob was un-seasoned and was not even buttered. There were flies everywhere, landing on the food and on the table like we were eating outside by the dumpsters. The only reason why we didnt say anything while we were there was because it took so long for the food to come out that sending it back was not an option.. We are not part of the Colts Neck "Elite" so going out to dinner is special for us not something we can afford to do very often. There were only three tables of people so its not like you were crazy busy at the time. Needless to say we will not be returning to the Colts Neck Inn. Oh the only nice part about eating there was the staff.. The waiter and the staff was very nice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dont Waste your Money, Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stopped here impromptu on Wed evening w/ family and friends, party of 10 altogether with six adults and 4 young kids age 9-4 who ate off the kids menu. We had attended a sporting even and stopped for what we thought would be quick meals. Dining room was maybe 40% full tops, but we experienced the worst service ever. It took an 1 hr 30 min for food to arrive, waitress was inattentive and hardly seen. We ended up eating in under 15 min just to get the heck outta there. We ordered simple items like steak sandwich, pastas, a steak, salads, etc. in addition to the basic kids menu items.To add insult to injury gratuity was already added to bill. If this is how they treat people on a slower night I hate to see how they operate when busy. We live in the area and I none of us will return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This restaurant has had its ups and downs over the 30 years that we have gone there, and for a while we stayed away. But we started going again earlier this year, and it is much improved. The steaks are large and very good, the french fries are home made, the seafood is good. The drinks that used to seem watery are now as they should be. We always eat in the bar and it can be noisy, but the booths are comfortable, clubby really. One of the waitresses tends to be a bit rude, sort of like a chip on the shoulder attitude, but the others, such as Betty are really great. Sometimes we just have a burger, other times dinners, but we haven't been disappointed in a long time. They do a lot of functions, and sometimes when a big one is going on, service suffers. You can easilty tell because when there is a funtion they have valet service. The bar is a bit of a pickup bar for 35-55 year olds. Families are mostly in the dining room. Lots of couples in the bar.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colts Neck Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colts Neck Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colts Neck Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.