We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Atmosphere is the Best - Italy! (BYOB)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico

Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico
706 Haddon Ave, Collingswood, NJ 08108
(856) 858-9840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Collingswood
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Collings Avenue
Transit: Guests can ride the Patco Speedline easily from Philadelphia or any New Jersey Patco stop. For ride schedule information go to the Patco website.
Description: Nunzio Ristorante Rustico sits on a historic venue that once boasted as a nickelodeon theater and post office. As you walk into the restaurant your gaze takes you up into a two story villa al fresco reminiscence of Italian piazzas. The restaurant is perfect for intimate affairs for up to 120 guests. View menus and event details at nunzio's website.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The Atmosphere is the Best - Italy! (BYOB)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First time at Nunzio's. The atmosphere is a major part of this restaurant. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Tables white and lively. Menu full and the food is great! Start to finish was a great experience. Did I mention the atmosphere?! Try this place with some red wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a hit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nunzio's has always been a favorite of ours ! The food is excellent, the service great. Make reservations it can get crowded, but worth the wait for the carpaccio and arugula salad, the scallops and the Dover sole !! They have wonderful specials, come try it !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderfully warm and inviting, but be patient even if you have reservations. It's worth the wait. Food is fresh and atmosphere is very comfortable. Very friendly, accomodating staff. The area has many places to dine, but definitley try this one. We will be back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Above and beyond our expectations!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently held two dinners at Nunzio's, one for my Mother in Law's 75th birthday (23 guests), and one for my stepson's wedding. Nunzio's delivered big time on both occasions. Manager Ryan opened the restaurant early one Sunday for my wife and me to experience a private tasting of the banquet menu, which at $39.95 per person, plus tax and tip, was a smoking bargain. Collingswood is all BYOB, so Ryan kindly offered to store/refrigerate all of our wines and Champagne in advance, and display and serve it expertly at no additional charge.

When we arrived, the table was set nicely, with menus for all. Servers explained all the dishes carefully, and answered questions. The food was wonderful, especially the homemade veal sausage, the delicious mussels in red sauce, and the main course of jumbo shrimp. The appetizers were served family style, and if one of the many plates emptied, more was brought out upon request at no additional charge.

I'm not sure about some of the (very few) negative comments I have read about this place, for example, for one reviewer to say that "real Italians" call tomato sauce "gravy" is absurd. Perhaps Italian Americans who have never been to Italy call it that, but over there it is simply called "salsa pomodoro". Sure, you won't find many authentic Italian dishes there like cacio pepe, or tripe, but that's because Americans don't like it! They must sell an edited version of Italian cuisine, they can't have everything!

We couldn't have asked for better food or service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My son and wife took me here for my birthday. The decor was very nice - appeared that we were eating in a piazza of an Italian village. My wife got pasta, my son seafood and I got a chicken dish. All were very good. The servings were average sized. Service was very good and attentive. The only complaint was the noise level. It was half full when we entered and the noise wasn't bad. As we were getting ready to leave the place was filling up and it was getting very loud.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico also viewed

 
Collingswood, NJ
 

Been to Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nunzio's Ristorante Rustico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.