We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pop Shop

The Pop Shop
729 Haddon Avenue, Collingswood, NJ 08108
856-869-0111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 51 restaurants in Collingswood
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: The Pop Shop serves whimsical American comfort cuisine. Featured nationally on “Throwdown with Bobby Flay” on The Food Network. Kids’ menu was awarded “Best Menu in America” by Restaurant Hospitality magazine. The huge menu includes 30 grilled cheese, dozens of pancakes, creative burgers, salads and sandwiches, hand cut fries, and gourmet sundaes and milkshakes. All day breakfast. Retro décor with 1950’s soda counter and bubble gum colors. Private banquet space for up to 100.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had heard great things about this place, especially since they make GF grilled cheese and GF french fries. We drove over to check it out. It was busy, the food was decent, but I thought the grilled cheese would knock my socks off since it one a Bobby Flay throwdown. I would try it again since it was busy when we went, maybe they sacraficed quality for speed that night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    55
    46
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Fun Atmosphere! Great for Ice Cream & Shakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Pop Shop is a fun, old-fashioned soda parlor. It has an extensive food menu, but sometimes seems to try too hard. When I order a grilled cheese, I want a plain old grilled cheese sandwich, not thick fancy bread that I have to open wide to bite into. American cheese, please. I've never even enjoyed something as simple as an omelette there. It's also a little loud for those kids/families who don't like the overstimulation.

On the other had, we love going there for ice cream and shakes, especially to celebrate birthdays. They bring the birthday kid their shake with a candle and make an annoucnement for everyone to sing along. Try the Bacon Shakin'. But my favorite is the party cake shake. And, they give kids a balloon when requested. Always a highlight even for my 9 year old!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and fabulous Food !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pop Shop is a great place for burgers, grilled cheese and many other favorites. The atmosphere is so fun, and a throw back in time ! the old fashion soda jerk fountain, the wait staff singing, all such a fun time for kids and grown-ups ! It is loud and crowded, so not a place for romance but definatley for good food and a good time !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A friend brought us to the Pop Shop on Sunday afternoon for lunch. We had to wait about 45 minutes for a table but it was worth it! Check in on 4-Square for some good deals. I got a free soda for mine. The menu is HUGE so be prepared to have a hard time deciding. The pancakes looked amazing and are larger than your face. I opted for the 5 B's grilled cheese (brie & bacon) with a cup of homemade tomato soup. It was fantastic. There are so many options here I could see going back regularly to keep trying new things. The prices were very reasonable and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Pop Shop is located just blocks away from my house. Its a cute place. They have great grilled cheese sandwiches, all kinds of milkshakes and ice cream! Also, for breakfast, they have different oatmeal flavors, like nutella, reese cup, (no joke!) one more added bonus: hot chocolate in butterfinger, almond joy, etc flavors! Crazy!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pop Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Pop Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pop Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.