We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Clinton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Clinton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Clinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Frontage Drive, Clinton, NJ 08809   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stopover Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn a couple of times. We usually only stay a night, because we are passing through. The staff is always friendly, clean room and a great free hot breakfast in the morning. Also, we usually are stopping around dinner time and there is a Cracker Barrel right next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freda T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clinton, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Clinton, NJ. It is our wish that you found your stay to be pleasant, comfortable and that we were successful in exceeding your every expectation.

We strive to offer the best guest services to our valued guest and provide the most superior accommodations. If for some reason we have not accomplished this goal, we encourage you to call upon us to discuss it further. Welcoming your call is the General Manager, Pat Smith at 908-713-4800 x2002
Through the comments and suggestions of our guests, we are able to ensure a more favorable stay in the future.

Should your travels ever lead you back to our area, it is our most sincere desire that you consider returning to the Hampton Inn Clinton, NJ. We certainly enjoyed hosting you.

In Hospitality,

Pat Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    88
    30
    19
    13
See reviews for
88
53
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Undergoing renovations-odor and noise was disruptive to comfort; secured doors at corridors were not locked overnight. Room furnishings were comfy and clean, staff polite, grounds tidy & well-lit. Breakfast choices were good. In-room heater was noisy and climate control was difficult. Noise buffer would improve experience and privacy. Pet policy has changed to 45 lb weight limit and my Golden Retriever will no longer be welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freda T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clinton, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to fill out your survey of you stay at the Hampton Inn Clinton, and we wanted to personally thank you, we are sorry if the hotel did not meet your expectations, and we graciously appreciate your business this is why we feel it necessary say thanks for staying with us. Renovations being performed at the property can be very frustrating but the end result will be rewarding. Please be assured we are addressing your issues
and thanks for pointing out your issues during your stay , it is feedback like yours which help us to improve in all areas of service provided to loyal customers. Fyi Your Golden Retriever is still welcome anytime you want to come back and let us serve you.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we are always working on improving our services to accommodate, and meet the satisfaction of our guest.

Again, thank you for booking your hotel accommodations with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We look forward to you allowing us to serve you, and we appreciate your loyalty it is our pleasure to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort

In Hospitality,

Pat Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Though I only stayed one night, it was a pleasant experience. The room and bed were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was tasty. The staff were all cheerful and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Handy place to stay in this neck of the woods. Currently being improved with new lobby and pool upgrade. Staff is always friendly and having a Cracker Barrel next door is great plus. There is also a shopping center with a Walmart right up the hill to get anything you need during your stay. Clinton is a neat little town to explore with some unique shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: good discounts for military, seniors etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freda T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clinton, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Clinton, NJ. It is our wish that you found your stay to be pleasant, comfortable and that we were successful in exceeding your every expectation.

We strive to offer the best guest services to our valued guest and provide the most superior accommodations. If for some reason we have not accomplished this goal, we encourage you to call upon us to discuss it further. Welcoming your call is the General Manager, Pat Smith at 908-713-4800 x2002
Through the comments and suggestions of our guests, we are able to ensure a more favorable stay in the future.

Should your travels ever lead you back to our area, it is our most sincere desire that you consider returning to the Hampton Inn Clinton, NJ. We certainly enjoyed hosting you.

In Hospitality ,

Pat Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here en route home from a b&b vacation two days from home. This Hampton Inn seemed to us to be a flawless execution of the model. Everything seemed new, everything worked, staff was cordial, TV was HD and >50 channels, king bed was new and very comfortable. No, of course, it's not a b&b, but it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freda T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clinton, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Clinton, NJ. It is our wish that you found your stay to be pleasant, comfortable and that we were successful in exceeding your every expectation.

We strive to offer the best guest services to our valued guest and provide the most superior accommodations. If for some reason we have not accomplished this goal, we encourage you to call upon us to discuss it further. Welcoming your call is the General Manager, Pat Smith at 908-713-4800 x2002
Through the comments and suggestions of our guests, we are able to ensure a more favorable stay in the future.

Should your travels ever lead you back to our area, it is our most sincere desire that you consider returning to the Hampton Inn Clinton NJ. We certainly enjoyed hosting you.

In Hospitality,

Pat Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in August and wrote a review then regarding the change of TV service. The management chose Labor Day weekend to switch services and it didn't go as planned so we had no TV for 2 days. They gave us a free night so we thought we'd try them again. Bad idea! This time the sink was broken when we got there. No water from faucet and piddle of water on floor. It got fixed right away but someone should have checked it before. The chair by the desk had a nasty stain on it. Yuck!! I hate to think what it was!! I told someone at the front desk they need to do some maintenance and she said they are in the process of renovating. That's no excuse for what we encountered. Will never stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freda T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Clinton, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am truely sorry and certainly dissipointed the your stay was not all it could have been.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. Our standard procedure in this event would have been to offer you a new room or our 100% back. I am sorry to hear that the sink in the room was broken. It is not the standards for Hampton. The interaction with our staff member with regaurds to your comments about the experience is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I do hope the rest of your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very convinient localization, with restaurants around. Same standar of other Hampton Inns: good room size, breakfast.
Even being crowded due to the Sandy storm, services worked fine.
There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant just crossing the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clinton

Address: 16 Frontage Drive, Clinton, NJ 08809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Clinton welcomes guests with warm-from-the-oven cookies, lemonade, and comfortable overstuffed chairs to enjoy them in while resting in front of the crackling fire. Like the charming, Victorian town of Clinton, the hotel is full of hometown friendly hospitality. Lining the nearby historic streets are wonderfully eclectic boutique shops and designer stores. The Red Mill and Raritan river create a picturesque landscape that has insipid artists for over a century. The backdrop is sure to inspire a picture taker or two. The Hampton Inn provides business and leisure travelers alike with the opportunity to escape the hectic pace of large cities and spend some time relaxing in the perfect American hometown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clinton Hotel Clinton
Clinton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.