We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value (but watch your bags)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Route 3 East, Clifton, NJ 07014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Clifton
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    49
    29
    36
See reviews for
81
29
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were greeted by Germaine who was friendly and welcoming. Location was great, just outside of NYC. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The king sized bed was so comfortable and we had great night sleep. We look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are not many hotel choices near Clifton, Glen Ridge, and Montclair area unless you travel to Newark or the Meadowlands. This location provided easy access to all the major highways as well as shopping and dining. The Red Robin attached to the hotel had a great bar for a glass of wine after work without having to even go outside. There is a target and some other quality dining less than 2 miles. The hotel was clean, and adequate while providing free wireless in the rooms and a free breakfast in the morning (including waffles). While not the Ritz, I would stay here again as it provided convenience .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here on a bus trip to New York City. So, I did not choose the hotel. Our room was on the first floor and smelled really musty. The smell gave me the creeps when I walked into the room. The hallway leading to the room was dark, damp, and smelly. The room smelled just about as bad. It was clean, just smelled bad. In the morning, when getting up at 6am, found that the shower didn't work. I called the front desk, and the man wasn't very nice. He said, "You just aren't doing it right". I travel a fair amount, and I have enough experience turning "non-home" showers on and besides that, there are only so many ways to do it. He told me he would come and "show me how to do it". I went back into bathroom and pulled the faucet really hard, and it came on. Must have been not used for awhile and stuck. Good thing, cause when I tried to call front dest back, no one answered, and no one ever came to my room either.
My daughter and I went to a friend's room on third floor that night, and the hallway smelled so bad (like throw up) that we held our breath.
No flat screen in our room-had an older model TV. We didn't even turn it on though.
Breakfast was not too bad. fair variety of choices. Lobby decent looking, but small common area.
This hotel is in drastic need of a makeover. Pictures on website are very deceiving. About an hour away from the city depending on traffic. Next time, I will stay either in the city or somewhere else in Clifton. There are other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a room on higher floors- doesn't smell as bad up there as on first floor
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was a really good hotel in a nice area to New Jersey. I had the pleasure of staying there while I was displaced by Hurricane Sanday. The room was really big and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful especially Gabriella and Jose. There was a free breakfast in the morning. There is also a Target within walking distance of the hotel. There is also a bus 2 blocks away that goes into NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton

Address: 265 Route 3 East, Clifton, NJ 07014
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Clifton
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton Hotel Clifton
La Quinta Hotel Clifton
La Quinta Clifton
Clifton La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.