We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything working properly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    66
    53
    87
See reviews for
75
54
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The lighting in the guest room was not sufficient. Need brighter bulbs and more light fixtures near the entry door/ closet/bathroom area

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Hello Greg C,

I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Howard Johnson's in Clifton, NJ is a piece of turd. We were given a room with no heat. Switched to another room that had no heat again and on top of that, were not given a refund!! We were better off sleeping in our car, at least there was heat.
The vending machine will never ever operate because management wants to over charge you on water at their own price....ridiculous!!!
Stay the (you know what) away! #Trust

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Hello guest,

I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. I have also trained the front desk staff upon their behavior and the heating units are fully functional as well.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Good property for a traveler on a budget. Internet access was free but sketchy. Hallways look drab and none of the three soda machines worked.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Hello K7538JPmarkm,

Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. The soda vending takes place in the front desk office, so if you were to ask any one behind the front desk they would be able to vend you any beverage of your choice after payment. I apologize for the faulty soda machine.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Address: 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.