We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Castle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
White Castle
1341 Main Ave, Clifton, NJ 07011-2238
973-772-0335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 176 Restaurants in Clifton
Restaurant details
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The cheeseburgers are always fresh, always hot and always delicious. Great place for a quick snack or meal pickup.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“CLASSIC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My family moved to clifton in 1971, this was the first meal we had in the new house, ( 1st time eating sliders . I was 5 then, and still going back, the building has changed, I was sad when they tore the old one down ! and it took a few years to season the cook tops to get that white castle taste just right. get the burgers steamed (ask) you won't be sorry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get em by the sac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to white castles since I was a baby. My mom worked for the one in Verona (it's closed now) as a teen.

I always enjoy these little burgers. The thick shakes and o rings.

Each burger brings back fond memories of days gone by.

Clean establishment good service hot food. Who could ask for more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“First time visit was a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The establishment appeared to be clean and staff was nice. The burgers were good, but the chicken and fish were ok. The fries? I could've cooked better crinkle cut fries in my own house. First experience at a White Castle that we really looked forward to, but incredibly disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the sliders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small burgers with great taste,right price,eating 5 or 6 burgers are not a problem.Steamed on the grill with onions.Been eating them for years and always fresh off the grill.Real fast service too.All have drive thru.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Castle also viewed

 

Been to White Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.