We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but needs to be updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Clark - Newark to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Valley Road, Clark, NJ 07066 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice staff but needs to be updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The staff was very nice. The room was worn, though clean. The sheets were
beat. Very thin and used up and the pillows were lousy. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast could not even get it together to bring us a cup of coffee, and I agree with other reviews that the food is overpriced. The location was great for the family event we attended and there was ample parking. The place just really needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: See if any rooms have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    81
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
24
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I missed my connection at JFK and the next flight was at least 24 hours later. The warm and friendly staff were already expecting me and my room was already prepared when I finally got there. Rooms include a microwave and fridge. Internet access was complimentary and a warm breakfast was offered to raise my spirits. The staff went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of during my stay. I warmly recommend this hotel which happens to be quite close to Newark International Airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The staff at the Crowne Plaza were amazingly accommodating. The front desk person made us a whole bunch of photocopies for free in 1 minute flat. When we got an undercooked fishy-smelling piece of salmon at the restaurant, the waiter not only replaced it with a nice chicken dish without complaining, he also gave us our whole meal free! When noisy people moved in next door, they gave us a new room on the quiet fifth floor immediately.
And there were just all these nice touches - a "courtesy call" after check-in to ask if everything was ok, offers to help us with our luggage, reassurance that our meals would go to the corporate account.
The little freebie perks were great too - Hersheys kisses in the hallways, rock candy swizzle sticks with the coffee, and lavender pillow-spray in the rooms.
We were expecting an ordinary chain hotel, and in many ways it is one, but the great service brought it to a higher level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stayed at the Crown Plaza while my life-partner was working nearby. I am self employed, but needed to get work done. The hotel had everything I needed, easy wireless, good cell reception, a business center with helpful staff. I was able to work in peace, use the facilities, and get in a work out and meals. All without leaving.

The room was clean and comfortable, and I appreciated the attention to getting a good night's sleep such as an eye mask, ear plugs and wake up call.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights because of a business trip in the area. This quality of decor was not what I expected from a Crown Plaza. The hotel has definitely aged, although they have managed to keep it fairly clean. Checkin was slower than typical. The hotel has amazingly slow elevators for such a small hotel. One morning I waited more than 10 minutes for one of the 2 elevators to come.

The rooms are comfortable and organized well - Flat screen TV, desk, upholstered chair and fridge. The bathroom is very cramped with minimal counter space.

The breakfast was adequate, but not outstanding. With a price of $9 for continental and $15 for a very basic full breakfast, it seemed a little on the high side for what you got. For dinner, you can either eat in the hotel restaurant or drive 5 mintues to the restaurants as there isn't anything within walking distance to the hotel.

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life, but nothing about this hotel thrilled me. Just ok. Choose this hotel if you need to work close by, otherwise go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

When I travel for work or with the family, I dont deny myself. On this trip, I was taking a test at the Prometric center in the office building next door. Traveling without my wife and young son, I just picked any 'ol hotel because it was close to the testing center. Hotel is what I expected, a little dated, but very clean.

I have to agree with many of the other folks and their reviews. I felt compelled to get on and write a review on the service as good service is not something you find anywhere these days. The Hotel staff are genuine, attentive and helpful. Something I'd expect from a mainline Marriott, Hilton or boutique hotel (not the courtyards or Hampton inns, their real properties). If I had to stay in the Clark area again, I would definatly consider a repeat stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaClark, Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Clark-Newark. We appreciate the time you spent reviewing highlights of your stay with us. This really helps other future guests get a feel for our hotel.

Our staff take great pride in offering the highest quality of customer service to each and every guest that stays at our hotel.

We hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I wanted to like this hotel, I really did... It's clean and everything LOOKS great. The staff, especially Alfredo at the front desk, was very polite and friendly. BUT....the bed was so soft and uncomfortable. When my hubby moved, I moved!! Like a rocking ship....pillows were awful.. The shower was good and hot. But, the worst thing of all was the traffic sounds kept me awake all night. Really loud--and we were on the top floor in the "quiet zone". The food in the restaurant was limited and overpriced.. $13 for a cobb salad..i.e. their version... lettuce, cucumbers (that were bad) chicken,eggs, bacon bits, tomatoes and feta cheese? feta ...on a cobb??? And breakfast...seriously, a $4. bowl of cereal...?? The room $139...but after taxes, etc...$159...not a bargain. Maybe those of you who can sleep soundly through anything would consider it a good deal. Nothing special here...sorry. Just telling the truth!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaClark, Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you to our guests from Valley Falls, NY for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate your comments as they allow us to ensure we constantly review and strive to provide the level of service you would expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel.

Your comments have been shared with the appropriate staff members. We apologize for the inconvenience you occurred due to the noise from outside traffic and the level of comfort of our beds.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. We continuously strive to improve the experience of our guests and your feedback allows us to do so!

Please let us know when you plan on returning to the Clark-Newark area. We will be happy to assist with any arrangements you may need that would allow you to have a more enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Clark - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Address: 36 Valley Road, Clark, NJ 07066 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.