We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai with friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thailand Restaurant

Thailand Restaurant
291 Central Ave, Clark, NJ 07066-1107
732-388-4441
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Clark
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

They claim to have the best Pad Thai in NJ. I'm not sure, but it might be true. Very quick service at lunch, even with a party of 10. Don’t be afraid to ask for 3-star or 4-star spiciness. The waitress talked me down to two-stars and I would have preferred more heat. But overall, it was great Thai with good service at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yes, it's very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food is good enough to come back for. Many people say it's the best Thai food they've ever had. It is very good. The place has lots of repeat customers. The atmosphere is a plus for anyone who cares about historical architecture...this is a great old diner, which hasn't been renovated much, which is something you don't see often. It can get very busy and very crowded on weekends, so unless you really appreciate better than average Thai cooking, go to the ordinary Thai place in Cranford, and leave room for those of us who really like this place, thanks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is delicious and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I go almost once a week. The waitress Mimi is excellent and remembers your order every time You go. Get the food medium. It still is very spicy and very tasty. It is always busy but tables move out quickly. Love it there!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is hands down the best and most authentic Thai restaurant I've been to outside of Thailand. I travelled around Thailand in 2006 and this restaurant is the real deal. The ambiance isn't conducive to a romantic dinner, but its BYOB and the prices are reasonable. Everything on the menu is good but my favorites are the Tom Yum Gai soup and the Bangkok chicken. They have enough non-meat items on the menu for vegetarians and vegans as well. We have been coming here for almost 10 years and the quality of the food is consistent and amazing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a little Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Thailand Restaurant occupies a former classic 50's era diner. The food is delicious, authentic Thai cuisine. This was our second visit on our annual trek through NJ from FL. We had the Hot and Sour Shrimp soup (Tom-Yum-Koong) which has straw mushrooms, Thai sweet basil, fresh tomato chunk, shrimp in a clear broth. 'Yum' is right! The chicken dumplings (Kanom Jeeb) were disappointing this time - lukewarm and a bit tough. Red curry w/chicken, coconut milk, lime leaves, red peppers, bamboo shoots, and sweet Thai basil was excellent as was the Pad Kee Mao - sautéed rice noodle w/shrimp, chicken, string beans, red pepper, onion, chili and basil. For dessert, fried bananas (in mini spring rolls) w/ vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, drizzled with chocolate sauce and honey. Very nice! Service is friendly and efficient. My only complaint is that the carpet desperately needs cleaning!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thailand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thailand Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.