We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed since December 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Metro Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Metro Grill
Route 206, Chester, NJ 07836
908.879.0051
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A welcome gem nestled in the valleys of the Flanders / Chester, New Jersey area. The Metro Grille specializes in International cuisine from Steak to Sushi. Our goal is to bring to you the essence of New York City style with our distinctive atmosphere and decor, whether in the warm ambiance of our dining room or relaxing on a sofa in our martini bar lounge.
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Closed since December 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

There is a sign out front that says kitchen being remodeled and will reopen on Monday but that was 3 to 4 months ago. An article in the paper stated the it is closed due to back tax payment from its owners. No signs of any activity so don't know if it will reopen.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Metro Grille”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place has a nice atmosphere, but seems to be confused about what it wants to be. The seating for dinning is compromised due to the need for a bar, that used to be exclusively for sushi. I think the food is good, and although I haven't tried their sushi, I hear good things about it. The menu is eclectic and the martinis are of good size. It almost seems that the place is more suited for the "drink after work crowd," than a family restaurant or even a romantic couples restaurant. I would rate it average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!!!!! GOOD SERVICE!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food is great....service is wonderful....bar area is awesome.....prices are high but the food quality makes you feel OK when paying the bill. Be aware...it is loud...so intinmate conversations should be done in the car ride over or the car ride home....unless you want to yell "I love you" across the table. Also, the seating is a bit tight....I like my neighbors but not sitting elbow to elbow with me when I am out with my wife for a private dinner. In short: The food is worth it!!!!! Also, not geared up for families...so please leave the winny children home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ehhhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I do not know why the restaurants ask how u want your burger done when they grossly overcook it anyway. Ordered a kobe med rare. To say it was well done would be an understatement. sushi is wonderful. Other food ehhh and the facility needs an upgrade. Little things count like the table cloth on the table next to us was dirty from the previous meal. Not sure I will be back soon but the sushi is worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I agree with Tony. This place is great. We love going here. Good time had and great atmosphere. Food is good and yes there have been a few times Martinis are better than other nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metro Grill also viewed

Chester, Morris County
Chester, Morris County
 
Chester, Morris County
Chester, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metro Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.