We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful even with all the children LOL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riamede Farm

Riamede Farm
122 Oakdale Rd., Chester, NJ
908-879-5353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Chester
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
South Jersey
1 review
“Peaceful even with all the children LOL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Took my adult children there when they had time away from college, so peaceful, organized, and scenic. The lines moved fast, the prices were good and will continue to go there every season until I can no longer drive up (2 hrs)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No frills apple and pumpkin picking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Only red and golden delicious available with a few cortlands. Pumpkins in an authentic patch still on vine. Excellent still warm cider doughnuts. $1.89 a pound for apples. Only downfall is no picnic area. Nice family farm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack, New Jersey
1 review
“Love the heirlooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful morning of apple picking at Riamede! We anxiously wait for the farm to open for apple picking every year. The heirloom trees are absolutely amazing. Our girls can walk under them and pick the apples themselves. This is a no-frills farm, which is exactly why we like it, it's nice and calm. We check out the map at the gate for the location of the apples that we like and walk to that spot, or take a wagon. The rows have signs which tell you the type of apple and then you meander about the trees and enjoy. There are no bouncy houses or petting zoos, there are amazing apple trees and refreshments offered outside the orchard gates. Mmmm, hot apple cider and a cider donut. A great way to end your trip. What's not to like? Oh, you can take the hayride to the picking locations within the orchard as well.....but why not take in the sites and sounds of the orchard on a short walk? We plan to go again when more of the heirloom varieties are ripe! Thanks Riamede for a wonderful fall tradition!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You'll get your apples, but not entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you just want a non-crowded short trip for apples and apple products, this is the place to go. Nice variety of apples, there are also some pumpkins and tomatoes. It's very small. It works for me, when I just want for a little bit of time and not spend a ton of money or push through the crowds.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riamede F, Owner at Riamede Farm, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We pride ourselves in being the "non-carnival" farm. We do not have mazes, a petting zoo, plastic moonwalk blowups, or junk food stands. For us, getting lost in our old orchard is like returning to the 19th century and, for those who relish that kind of thing, can be the best of entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always Apples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family and I have been going there for the past 10 years and we love this farm. There is always some kind of apples available for picking. Even when the season is over, we take a ride and see what they have available at the farm store.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riamede Farm also viewed

 

Been to Riamede Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riamede Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.