We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Never Stay Here Again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2389 Route 70 West, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Edison, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will Never Stay Here Again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

Asked for a non smoking room, told by staff that it was non-smoking but all linens, towels, and the bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke and there were cigarette burn marks on the bathtub. Bathroom also had spiders in bathtub and silverfish.

Room was not cleaned, linens not changed the whole 2 night, 3 day stay. We were unable to get new linens or towels to shower until after 10am--and still they never came.

Staff was rude, unapologetic, not helpful, and not knowledgeable about the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    7
    8
    27
See reviews for
8
5
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2004

My husband and I booked one night in October, 2004 because his Dad was in the hospital in South Jersey.

At first, the room seemed OK, even though the tub and toilet were scarred with cigarette burns.

When I awoke at 4:00 am to use the bathroom, and came back to bed, I noticed BUGS in my husband's bed! I don't mean one little bug - I mean we counted 6 -7 ugly mini-cockroach looking bugs that were coming from under his pillows and under the covers!

I called the front desk to let them know what was happening. The clerk said he could not leave the desk. I asked that he inform the manager immediately!

We checked out right away, and I told the clerk I will expect some kind of refund for this horrible experience. My credit card has been charged for the whole amount, and I have yet to receive any refund!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2004

This was the worst place I've ever seen and I would never stay there. I booked online and by name only. I felt the name Howard Johnson was one I could trust. I'd booked for two nights and didn't stay 15 minutes. My main concerns were the overwhelming bad smell in the room, filthy carpet, paint peeling off the walls and electrical cords laying across the floor to reach an outlet.

The people at the front desk were very nice and didn't question me when I told them I was leaving. I walked with my luggage to the Hilton down the street and had a lovely stay. I've still not received a refund but am in the process of trying to accomplish that.

Please do not stay here, there is no way anyone could enjoy this place.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2004

i reserved two rooms for two night last month, but today i found my credit card was charged 5 times single room price. I called them to argue the problem, but again and again, the front desk man I reached hung up the phone.

I am really unhappy with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2004

My husband and I and our 2 kids (3 and 9 y.o.)were there for two nights in August, 2003. This hotel was a tremendous disappointment. It was nothing like the description on the internet site we used to book our reservation. It was mostly empty, dirty and rather creepy. The only reason we did not leave immediately was because we had driven 10 hours to get there and my husband was sick. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, there was loose wiring which my husband spotted, the bathtub was stained and the manager said he had run out of shampoo when we asked for more. The walls inside and outside were dirty and the paint was peeling. The pool was closed due to renovation. It was truly the most depressing hotel we have ever stayed in (and we have travelled a lot and stayed in many budget hotels!)

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2003

Stayed there at Christmas time. There wasn't a warm blanket in the room, so my wife called the front desk. The clerk fetched one from his car. So, good service, but not exactly the best standards.

Not very clean, comfortable or pleasant. Would not recommend. The Hilton down the street is worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2002

I thoroughly enjoyed the Howard Johnson in Cherry Hill, NJ, for the followwing reasons
1)Excellent value for the price you pay
2) The adjoing restaurant is very good, and I defintley recommend going there. It was an Indian restaurant. I don't know a lot about Indian food, but the food there sure was good.
3) While the exterior does need some improvements, i found the rooms to be very decent, with a comfortable bed, bathroom, etc. It was like any typical motel in that respect.
4) While the complimentary breakfest was not a gourmet meal by any means, it served its purpose by offering a typical breakfest with, cereal, danishes, juices, milk, etc.
If you need a decent motel, with excellent value, to stay in if you're visiting the southern New Jersey/Philadelphia area I recommend the Howard Johnson.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2389 Route 70 West, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cherry Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia, located within minutes of the area's best attractions including Cooper River Park, Camden County Park, Cherry Hill Mall, New Jersey State Aquarium, Tweeter Center, and Blockbuster-Sony Music Entertainment Centre. After an enjoyable day of sightseeing guests enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants such as Wendy's, Lobster Trap, or Mikado Japanese Restaurant. Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia offers an on-site restaurant, free 24-hour coffee in the lobby, and a guest laundry facility. Our front desk staff is available to assist you 24-hours/day. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, and free local calls. A hairdryer, iron, and ironing board are available at the front desk for a refundable security deposit. At Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Cherry Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.