We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Roach Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2389 Route 70 West, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Cherry Hill
Raleigh, NC
1 review
“A Real Roach Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Falsely listed. I paid in advance thru Expedia. Continental Breakfast was listed as included. No such item is provided. I should have taken what breakfast cost me for 3 people and stayed somewhere else for 5 nights. Asked for non-smoking room. First Room was not marked non-smoking and wreaked. Requested another. It was labeled Non-smoking but had ash trays and also had stale smoking odor. Third room was better on smell. However, when coming in each night, We had to kill roaches that came out of the mini-fridge that we did not use because it was a mass of ice from lack of defrosting. A true roach motel. I paid for a room for three adults (one handicapped) and they give me two towels and one role of toilet paper. I was able to get an extra towel but had to ask for TP as needed. When house keeping came in they dumped trash only. I used the same towels for the 5 days. The blankets on the beds were disgusting. appeared to have never been washed. The one nice thing that had nothing to do with the hotel was the park across the street in back. I like a morning walk and it had a 3.5 mile track around the lake.

Photos of room shown must be about 10 years ago. this hotel is in much need of upgrade and repairs. Furniture is badly worn, torn and beat up.

  • Liked — The park accross the street on the back side
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    8
    25
See reviews for
7
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This place is over-rated in the review provided. There was no microwave, coffee pot, blowdryer or refrigerator. When I spoke to the manager, he said they did not provide that info--on-line people did. We received a blowdryer when asked for it . The sheets had cigarette burns in them, the inside and outside was not inviting. Will not stay there again.

  • Liked — proximity
  • Disliked — room description
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

If you are someone who is picky, easily scared or if you live in a small town DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!!

Now, having said that, due to my job I stay in more Inns, Hotels and Motels in one year than most people do in their lifetime! Which means I know what I am talking about.

Howard Johnson Cherry Hill

The outside in some places do show signs of wear, but the rooms are just fine. If you just want a decent room to sleep this motel just fine. $65+ tax is not bad considering everything else in that area starts at $99+ tax. Forget about Philadelphia unless spending lots of money is one of your pastimes. The name says Inn but it is more of a Motel setup in which the rooms are all externally accessed from the lobby.

This Motel is NOT used as a halfway house for convicts! But they do have people there through Social Services (welfare), Red Cross, and Social Security. From what I have seen, the people on welfare stay in a small building adjacent the lobby. The main building its self is probably 300 feet or so behind the lobby but not far enough to escape the stereotypes we all have about people that are seeing hard times.

Pros:
* 10 minutes to Downtown Philly
* Great Price with further discounts available
* Very friendly staff
* The Cooper River & Park is right behind the Motel
* Indian restaurant on premises (tasty food indeed)
* Airport shuttle
* Clean, Quiet Rooms

Cons:
* The pool is closed
* Camden (a city with lots of bad areas) is close by
* Some rooms have refrigerators & microwaves while others don't
* Housekeeping & Maintenance are not open 24 hours
* No elevator (doesn't bother me but for some of us......)
* The elderly man that works the night shift is very rude.
* Hard to find due to some sites using the road name instead of the route number.
* Parking is hard to find in the inner lot when there are major functions in the Hall
* Breakfast consists of two types of cereal, coffee, danishes, and doughnuts (doesn't bother me but for some of us......)

Please Note:

This Motel is now "America's Best Value Inn"

  • Liked — The Motel is very flexible when it comes to my business needs
  • Disliked — It is hard to get a taxi
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

I can't believe that Howard Johnson's allows this hotel to fly its banner.

My wife and I made a reservation, when we arrived we found the exterior to be very seedy. However, the lobby did appear to be nice, so we asked to see a room prior to checking in, but we were told that we could not look at a room. As we could not find another room within the area we did check in.

There were wrecked autos in the parking lot and there was a resturant that was part of the motel, but had at least a week's worth of trash outside. The sheets in the room were worn and dingy. There were people hanging around the motel that appeared to be displaced. Luckily we found another room and checked out of this motel.

We were later told that the motel is sometimes used as a half way house for the local convicts. I would not recommend this hotel to any one under any circumstances.

ps. This the first time I have ever written a review. But this was so bad, I felt it was necessary.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Some associates and I stayed at this property while attending a convention in Philadelphia. While the place looks kind of like a dump from the outside, the room I was in was relatively quiet and fairly clean. An associate who had a room on the other side of the building said that his next door neighbor got into a loud fist fight the first night and nothing was done after he called the desk. There was supposed to be a free continental breakfast but we never found it. It is very conveninent to the bus into the city (only a block away) and cost about $125 LESS than what another associate who stayed in Philadelphia paid per night. There is some shopping near by as well as some restaurants. On the whole, it isn't fancy; it isn't wonderful; but it's pretty good for the price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Kind of seedy
  • Tips/Secrets — If money isn't an object, go for a fancier place. This place is ok for a cheap motel but not fancy or special in any way.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

We wanted to visit Philadelphia but the hotels there were so much more expensive than the Howard Johnson in Cherry Hill, so we went with the Howard Johnson which is practically just over the bridge.
What a mistake!!!!
The first problem was that it appeared to be a wellfare hotel with tenants rather than guests. When we arrived at 930pm the hallways were crowded with people just hanging out drinking beer and children running around in diapers. The hotel staff would do the rounds and they would scatter, but return as soon as the staff was gone. The "tenants" were loud and not very friendly. We did not feel at all safe!
The rooms were not that great either. There were stains on the floor and in the bathroom. Some of the outlets were hanging out of the walls.
When we were leaving the next morning we even found a not so friendly letter taped to the door not so polietly asking us to leave, from one of the tenants. We were more than happy to oblige and will never, ever be returning to that hotel again. Next time we will just spend the extra money and stay in Philadelphia!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

This place was absolutely horrible, under no circumstances should you stay at this hotel. During the night we heard scratching and other strange noises coming from the ceiling near the bathroom. It turns out that there were birds nesting above a vent in our room and in the morning a combination of dirt and bird droppings had fallen all over the bathroom counter. When we went to go take a shower, the tub had peeled away from the floor and left a gap filled with rancid water that smelled like a combination of rotten eggs and mildew. This was the most dirty place I have ever lodged. If it were possible to give worse than a terrible rating I would.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2389 Route 70 West, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cherry Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Cherry Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia, located within minutes of the area's best attractions including Cooper River Park, Camden County Park, Cherry Hill Mall, New Jersey State Aquarium, Tweeter Center, and Blockbuster-Sony Music Entertainment Centre. After an enjoyable day of sightseeing guests enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants such as Wendy's, Lobster Trap, or Mikado Japanese Restaurant. Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia offers an on-site restaurant, free 24-hour coffee in the lobby, and a guest laundry facility. Our front desk staff is available to assist you 24-hours/day. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, and free local calls. A hairdryer, iron, and ironing board are available at the front desk for a refundable security deposit. At Americas Best Value Inn Cherry Hill/Philadelphia, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Cherry Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.