We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had time for a Bake Ahead Dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
2000 Route 38 Suite 1072, Cherry Hill Mall, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002
856-486-7232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 219 restaurants in Cherry Hill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Deptford, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wish we had time for a Bake Ahead Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently had dinner with my daughter at this restaurant. Yes, it is a chain, and yes it is related to the Cheesecake factory. And YES, it was fabulous. When they take your order, they recommend a section of their dessert menu where the items take 20-30 minutes to prepare (fresh baked). Your can order with your meal to eliminate the delay later. It was late, and we were skipping desser that night, but next time...

Dinner was fabulous. Our appetizer was "lick your fingers good"; and each of our salads were so large we wondered why we didn't choose the "small plate" option. The staff was attentive, but not overly so. Can't wait to eat there again. Oh, and did I mention that the Cherry Hill Mall location offers Valet Parking? That in itself was a treat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    21
    23
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great bar area, hip decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located in front of Cherry Hill mall, this is a quick stop for mall shoppers as we witnessed that evening. Went for happy hour and was impressed with the many small plate menu selections offered for $5 as well as $5 wines. The beef sliders were to die for!

The decor and ambiance warrant a return trip and look forward to trying the dinner menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not destination dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Different look for its owners the Cheesecake Factory.
Way too many choices to do everything right.
Not overly expensive, service adequate, food adequate, decor nice.

Would go back for lunch if shopping at mall but not worth a special trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun and varied menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been to lunch at Grand Lux twice now and both times it was very good. Their menu is huge (think Cheesecake Factory) and has many great choices. Most recently I ordered the Kobe beef burger which was outstanding. We also ordered the peach cobbler which was fantastic. Good cocktail menu as well. The pricing is a bit higher than the typical chain restaurants but the food is also better than most. It can get pretty noisy when full so may not be the best place for an intimate meal. This is quickly becoming one of our favorite restaurants in Cherry Hill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't go on a Saturday night - crazy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After driving around for 20 minutes, I got in line for the valet parking only to find that I had to wait for someone to leave for them to park my car. When I got inside, it was pure mayhem, people waiting to be seated, crowded bar, etc. Waited 1.5 hours for a table and finally sat down at 8:30pm.

Nice ambiance, liked the curved booths. I ordered a combo chicken royale(?) and shrimp scampi dish - enjoyed it immensely but I was also starving at that point! Shared a dessert of a hot apple pie torte or something like that which was very tasty.

Yes, I would go back but for lunch or on a non-weekend night. Generally, I avoid franchise type restaurants due to the sheer crowd / cattle feel of these places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lux Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.