We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere great deals and super food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dubh Linn Irish Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dubh Linn Irish Pub
482 E Evesham Road, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003
(856) 520-8312
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dubh Linn Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 222 Restaurants in Cherry Hill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere great deals and super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Forget the chain huge sports bar style that add a few items and tout themselves as a pub, this is a real deal quaint place. not far from where the base is and with specials like military monday , cant be beat, the staff are superb, and great brews on taps, OH did i mention the rocking irish and scot whiskey selection. I had the beef rib sandwich, they day beef great here in jersey , what out Texas, I had to finish it , it was incredibly tender, yes melt in the mouth barely had to chew goo and flavorful, so yep wil be back here again and again :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Improved food, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Dubh Linn pub Cherry Hill had a bit of a rocky start with its food. The first year it was open, I visited a few times and was very disappointed. After a couple of years away, I returned this month for a couple of visits. The food has definitely improved. Both times I went with a group, and everyone seemed pleased with their selections. Portions were ample--two of our group took home "doggie bags" from lunch. The lunch "soup and half-sandwich" plate was a great deal at $8. I am not a fan of such deals, but I found the hearty bowl of fish chowder and half a Philly cheesesteak more than enough to eat. From the dinner menu, the Guinness stew got rave reviews from my friend, who said it had a bit of a spicy kick to it. I had the salmon boxty, which was a bigger portion than that found in most area Irish style pubs. The boxty contained plenty of salmon in a delicate but tasty lemon sauce (very very light lemon in the sauce--just enough to flavor the cream). The one complaint my companions had was that all the offered soups were cream based and thick (for instance, two thick potato soups were featured on our most recent visit). I have ordered the Irish breakfast at their Bordentown pub and at Cherry Hill, but was underwhelmed. Found the bread tasteless; and the fry, dry. But then again, it is a rare American pub that can equal the fresh-off-the-farm taste of a true fry in Ireland. Service was not only prompt, but on both visits my group overstayed the meal by almost an hour, with no bother from the waitress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Barely Edible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited the Dubhlinn Square in Bordentown. Although the caesar salad was fine, the rest of the food was awful. The bread (which you must request) was dry and stale. Could they spare the 1 pat of packaged butter for the 4 pieces of bread?????
I had the meatloaf. It was grey, dry (barely a teaspoon of gravy), and made several days prior. My wife's shepherd's pie was in a bowl, covered with mashed potatoes. Looked like slop. Hard to describe. The mashed potatoes on my dish were able to be lifted in one piece!
People who like this place certainly don't know good food. I guess if there is a lot of it, they feel it's good.

Don't waste your money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have been to Dubh Linn Square several times and it's always a great time. Great beer selection, good food beyond the typical bar menu, and great service. They always have awesome bands on Friday nights and a pool table if you just want to hang out. Overall, the atmosphere is very enjoyable and not like all the other local bars packed with young kids and cheap beers. I highly recommend it for a date or catch a sporting event on their many big screen televisions. During the warmer months the patio is also very welcoming and a great place to have a cigar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Only place for Irish food in the CH area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Get the Magners cider. Be careful drinking it too fast.....it's that good.

Make reservations on OpenTable to earn your dining points.

The Whiskey Chicken Boxty is my favorite.

Their menu changes every so often (at least for the appetizers) because I had a few faves that are not currently on the menu.

Can be very crowded on Friday and Saturday nights, especially during the warmer months.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Linn Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Dubh Linn Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubh Linn Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.