We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Northern Jersey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scalini Fedeli

Scalini Fedeli
63 Main St, Chatham, NJ 07928-2403
(973) 701-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalini Fedeli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parrot Mill Road
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Northern Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is magical if you are looking to splurge and be pampered and taste some of the best Italian food west of the Hudson. The food, ambience, service are all excellent. It is not cheap, nor is the wine list, but save for those special occassions. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    13
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The service is top notch and highly professional. The food is excellently prepared and inventive, and nicely presented. The sauces are amazing. The Prix Fix is very reasonable for the high quality of the food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Scalini Fedeli is unmatched as a romantic dinner destination. Lovely meals with French accents and flawless service are served here even if the name is Italian. Flawless service and the veal, fish, chicken, in fact every entree we have ever ordered has been perfect. Save room for dessert, it is more than an afterthought here. This is a wonderful and discreet venue for a special anniversary or even a proposal !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A five-course steal for $54”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've seen a few complaints about the cost of this restaurant but I've paid more in NJ for meals not nearly as high quality as I had tonight. The entrees were made with very fresh ingredients that were amazingly prepared. The sauces were what set off the evening and between the 4 main dishes my wife and I had, the flavors ran the gamut. I think I have a new favorite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have eaten at Scalini Fedeli in Chatham, NJ, three times now. It has always been very good, but our third and most recent visit was exceptional by the standards of high-end New York area restaurants. My wife and I had a total of six different dishes (2 starters, 2 mains, and 2 desserts), and every one of them was brilliant. The fact that only a prix fix menu is offered is a plus, and the Chatham, NJ, restaurant is a real bargain because it is significantly less expensive than the New York City restaurant ($54 vs. $70 for the prix fix as of March 2013). The service is first-rate. My only criticism is that this restaurant has too few meatless dishes because the chef has a tendency to put bacon or sausage in scallop and other fish and seafood dishes and to offer very few veggie dishes. But the few meatless dishes that are offered, such as the mushroom ravioli starter and the red snapper main dish, are very, very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Fedeli also viewed

Chatham, Morris County
Chatham, Morris County
 
Chatham, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 

Been to Scalini Fedeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scalini Fedeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.