We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sichuan Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chengdu 1

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chengdu 1
89 Pompton Avenue, Pilgram Shopping Plaza, Cedar Grove, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Cedar Grove
Cuisines: Szechuan
Description: Right across Staples
Restaurant details
Description: Right across Staples
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent Sichuan Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Chengdu 1 has a wonderful Sichuan menu. My husband and I try to visit often, especially during this cold winter when the thought of an authentic Sichuan spicy meal is very appealing. The staff is always welcoming and attentive. The menu is varied, although we prefer the Sichuan dishes. We really feel that Chengdu 1 has the best, authentic Sichuan dishes in the area. BTW if you are vegetarian you will find many Sichuan dishes that will satisfy your palette accommodate your diet!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chengdu 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fair price and also fair taste. There isn't much choice in the north new jersey area. So it's still a good option for Chinese food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food that is simply excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We frequent Chengdu 1 about once a week. It is our son's favorite restaurant. We find it to be the most authentic chinese food in the area and this is after spending significant time in Asia. The menu is extremely varied and has something for any palette. If you like your basic orange chicken, pepper steak or sesame chicken they have that. If you are more adventuresome and want tripe, kidney or rabbit they have that. If you want something that they don't have on the menu they will prepare it for you. And everything they serve is excellent. The only word of caution is when they menu says hot and spicy it is really hot and spicy. if you typically order your food "hot" in other restaurants we suggest "medium" at Chengdu 1. Also do not be put off by the location (in the Pilgrim center next to the closed cinema 23 or the decor which is spartan at best. The food is outstanding and not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the Chengdu 1 the last time I went. This place has great food and great service. The best thing to look forward to when you go there is ordering some delicious pork dumplings! I can''t get enough of them! Overall, I would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking to have a really good meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something you just cannot compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Since its grand opening many years ago, my family go there very often. It is SiChuan style (or simplified "Chuan Style") so the main courses are expected to be spicy due to hot pepper and numb due to peppercorn. The restaurant was reviewed by New York Times (David Corcoran) in 2007 and also reviewed by others, which covered some basics about Chuan-style you may need to know or you may have known. My review goes specifically on two courses, "chicken broccoli" and "stir-fried mixed (pork kidney and fish maw)" which are in my family "must to have" menu. Chicken Broccoli sounds simplest and is one of the cheapest main dishes in Chinese restaurants. Chicken meat has lighter taste than veal or lamb and it requires fully cooked (it cannot be cooked rare or medium rare), so it is challenge to have chicken fully cooked and kept its tender, juicy and flavoring. Chengdu-1's chicken broccoli is just perfect. It is the best in Northern Jersey from my point of view. First of all it is not dark colored (due to soybean sauce), so golden (or brownish) chicken breast slices and fresh green broccoli are just perfect to satisfy your visual, and the chicken is very tender and broccoli is very crispy just perfect for your appetite. Tender meat and crispy vegetable is perfectly combined there in Chengdu-1. One of my favorites is stir-fried pork kidney and fish maw mixture. You may worry about your cholesterol level, but should not worry about it too much if just have it once a while, besides not all cholesterol in port kidney is bad, at least it is far safer than eating a Fugu (a poisonous puffer-fish). Nevertheless, I was told that in some Asian Culinary School, the graduates pray for not being randomly selected in pork kidney group due to its higher final's failure. The biggest challenge to cook port kidney is to keep kidney tender, the overcook is just about a few seconds (much harder than cooking a chicken). Stir-fry pork kidney (or maw mixture) in Chengdu-1 is just super perfect, so I believe that no other restaurants in New Jersey, New York, Connecticut and New England area where I traveled often can cook similar or comparable stir-fried pork kidney and fish maw mixture. First of all it does not have too much liquid or juicy at the bottom of the plate so it does not loss the flavor of kidney and maw, and secondarily the kidney is so tender and maw is very crispy, which enable you to have different chewing experience with full mouth of different flavor. Wow, it is the best.

Chinese cuisine originates from the diverse regions of China, which led to an unparalleled range of ingredients, techniques, dishes and eating styles. There are eight culinary styles (or traditions) of China cuisine. The chef in Chengdu-1 knows well several culinary styles, not just limited to Chuan style. Of course, it is a restaurant of SiChuan style you should try spicy ones first, however, if you do not eat spicy food and or if you would like to try something lighter, you may ask their a "steamed fish", a Yue style (Canton style) for your family, which I believe it is better than it in most Cantonese style restaurants in Northern Jersey.

The Chengdu-1 does not provide alcohol beverages. It is good that you can bring your own favorite wines at lower cost. But if you visit Chengdu-1 several times and build up a friendship with Master Lin, you may be lucky to have a small glass of rice wine brewed by Master Lin himself. His home made wine is absolutely not for sale for compliance of regulations, but can be given to his true friends. The wine is rose-red in color and not consistent in its quality, however it is generally a bit heavier and fuller in flavor like Junmai (Japanese rice wine), with slightly less acidity; goes well with a wide range of Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chengdu 1 also viewed

 

Been to Chengdu 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chengdu 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.