We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington
632 Pennsville Auburn Road Suite B, Carneys Point, NJ 08069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Carneys Point
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap, but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in this motel on the last day of a road trip. It's just over the bridge from Delaware and immediately off the highway. The front desk staff is phenomenally friendly and helpful. The room was just alright. It had a slight odor to it, but turning on the AC fixed that. The beds weren't overly comfortable, but I still slept just fine (I was super tired by the time I checked in). I'm guessing it used to be another motel because there is what used to be a pool in the middle, that's now filled in and covered in grass and weeds. But having the courtyard in the middle of the 4 buildings is nice for walking your dog. The rate was a reasonable $39 plus a $10 pet fee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & give us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you found our rates & accommodations satisfactory. We are working hard to upgrade & update our rooms & property, as well as looking to open a new pool.
We certainly appreciate the wonderful compliment for the Front Desk. We are proud of the talented staff we have. They take pride in their work & are always ecstatic to see a good guest review, especially one that recognizes their efforts. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
2
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Everytime I go to this area, I stay at this motel. The staff is impressive and friendly. The location is right off the interstate and there are many amenities nearby. There is ample parking for larger vehicles even if you drive a semi truck.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your patronage & are pleased to hear you are happy with our staff's performance, as we strive to provide excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we travel we always look for a Americas Best value Hotel because for the hospitality and price you cant do any better. The young lady that checked us in was the most pleasant person. We stayed in room 309 it was the most disgusting place we have ever stayed in we stayed because we were so exhausted from driving for hours so we tried to make it work with the foul foul smell the dust and really strong smell of mold and the wall paper peeling off the walls, the dirty bathroom floor we slept in our clothes. The kicker was the condom in the trash can really come on how in the heck do you charge someone money to stay in such a nasty nasty place. We could not sleep for being so creeped out and left at 4:ooam (3-11-13). Never ever again will we look that way again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvicarneys, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're pleased you had a good experience checking in. We sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with your room. Unfortunately, we weren't given the opportunity to address & resolve the issues because we were not alerted of any problems.
We are now under new management & currently in the process of making many changes & improvements to the entire hotel. We hope you'll give us another chance so we can prove our dedication to guest satisfaction & high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carneys Point hotels

Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This has got to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The girl at check in was absolutely wonderful, but that is the only nice thing I can say for this place. The room had a foul odor, the wall paper was peeling off the wall, the drain was clogged in the shower, there was hair on the shower walls, and the mirror over the sink was broken. We would have left except I was travelling with my 8 year old daughter, and my other daughter who is 8 months pregnant and we were all exhausted after 12 1/2 hours in the car. Well, unfortunately our night didn t end there. When we pulled the covers down on BOTH beds, the top quilts were stained with pee and what looked to be dried blood! So we slept without blankets.

Now let s add insult to injury. In the morning we went down for our so-called breakfast which was supossed to be available at 6am. We got there at 6:20 only to find the woman that is supossed to be setting up the breakfast sitting off to the side eating her own breakfast, drinking coffee, and talking on her cell phone. NOT ONCE DID SHE GET OUT OF THE CHAIR TO DO HER JOB. Available for breakfast was cereal {normal}, and coffee or tea. There were only TWO bagels, THREE boiled eggs, TWO pieces of bread, and some juice! I had one of the bagels and ended up throwing it in the trash because it was obviously left over from days before.

As this is a pet friendly hotel, I had my small dog with me. I had just walked her and was talking to my daughter when the woman behind the counter {HER NAME WAS VIRGINIA } came up to us, pointed at the dog, then the door and said, OUT!! I told her all she had to do was ask, She was the rudest, most obnoxious person I have ever had the displeasure to meet.

I don t know how this hotel is in business never mind how they have stayed in business. No apology in the world can make this right. The only way they could ever save face is to refund my money.

If ever you re in Carney s Point New Jersey, and you are looking for a place to stay, DO NOT STOP HERE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvicarneys, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review & the nice compliment for the front desk staff at check-in. We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with your last stay. We do wish we would have been given the opportunity to address & resolve the issues while you were still at our hotel. If management would have been made aware of any complaints, it would have been our pleasure to upgrade your room & make everything right during your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you,
ABVI Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganville NJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First visit 2 adults king bed. In 300 building in back - used to be a Quality Inn, sign on building and room # placards. Large clean room, nice new wallpaper strip at top of wall. Medium
sized fridge, microwave, clear picture on TV lots of channels. Non-locking back door. Lot not pristine but i dont sleep outside. Price in 50s (sept 2012)
2nd visit Nov 2012: one adult, told them
of my dog. Had the guest club ID and got best rate. Despite previous reviews about dogs and "worse" rooms was put in a 2 double beds room in 300 bldg again. Same amenities as king room but only 28 channels on TV. Noted the outdoor corridors "200" building on north side of facility. This room had plastic encased mattress and no sign of b.b. either visit. Fast/friendly check-in and had my info in their system a plus, just sign and pay. Location is past NJ Turnpike toll, adjacent to Pilot and across from Friendship Inn and 300 bldg backs up to I-295. Clean rooms, low price (also 50's)= Very Pleasant surprise

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvicarneys, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased you were happy with both your stays with us. We pride ourselves in our friendly & efficient Front Desk staff & appreciate the great review. We are glad you found our hotel to be a good value, as that is our goal, even as we continue to update & renovate our rooms & property.

Thank you,
Andrea Bobb
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carneys point nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Due to my job,I almost always stay at Choice Hotels, because of the points I recieve.However because of the great service,clean rooms,but mostly because of the great customer service I get each time I go to Carneys point,even without getting points. I alway stay at AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN in CARNEYS POINT. They make me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvicarneys, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your compliments concerning the great customer service & clean rooms. We have an excellent staff who go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, comfortable & happy.

Thank you,
Andrea Bobb
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington

Address: 632 Pennsville Auburn Road Suite B, Carneys Point, NJ 08069
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carneys Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Carneys Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Carneys Point/Wilmington, conveniently located near the Delaware Memorial Bridge, between Interstate 295 and the New Jersey Turnpike. We invite our guests to enjoy our free continental breakfast and coffee in our lobby. Take advantage of our on-site fitness center, business center, game room, and guest laundry facility. Our courtyard is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Business travelers will appreciate our peaceful suburban setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Our beautiful banquet facility accommodates up to 150 people for family reunions, business retreats, and annual conventions. Our seasoned sales team will ensure that all of your function needs are met. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, in-room safe, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, spacious work areas, free local calls, and wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small nightly charge. Our Carneys Point/Wilmington, NJ hotel is close to the Bridgeport Speedway, the Wachovia Complex indoor arena, the Adventure Aquarium, Salem Community College, and the University of Delaware. We are minutes from Delaware, the home of tax-free shopping. The Philadelphia International Airport is only 25 miles away. Pureland Industrial Complex and downtown Wilmington are also nearby. Additional points of interest include Widener University, Riverfront Wilmington shopping and dining district, Salem County Fairgrounds, Cowtown Rodeo, and Delaware Park Racetrack and Slots. At Americas Best Value Inn Carneys Point/Wilmington, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carney's Point Quality Inn
Carneys Point Quality Inn
Quality Inn Carney's Point
Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington NJ

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Carneys Point/Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.