We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Stay near NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 Paterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carlstadt
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Stay near NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two adults and three children. Upon arrival, the room was ready for us as promised. The roll away bed was setup for one of our kids and it was very comfortable. The room was clean and well kept with no issues. The breakfast was as usual for the Hampton Inn. We arrived down to breakfast at 8:30 am and there were no breads etc left. The hotel was clean and well kept overall. The hotel was located a short distance out of NYC. We traveled into NYC by car in the morning around 9 am and missed most of the traffic. The hotel is in a great location...no concerns with the location. We would stay here again and recommend to families as an alternate to staying in the city limits of NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    117
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
150
89
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

From our check in, to the breakfast buffet, to our late check out- the staff was helpful and cooperative.

We stayed the Sat night before a Jets game at MetLife stadium, but we still got a decent rate. Room was clean, and the hotel is overall in good shape. Besides MetLife & the bus stops to NYC, there is nothing within walking distance- but you can reach the hotel quickly from NJ Turnpike, Route 3, or Route 17.

Breakfast buffet featured big NY style bagels- the highlight of the stay for us.

Look for a new fitness room soon, since it was under construction when we stayed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nites. The hotel was very clean, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. It is in a very convenient location to get the bus into the Port Authority a block from Times Square. The bus was $8.50 round trip, most nites we came back after a Broadway show, which was around 11 pm, felt very safe. It was nice to have breakfast provided to start the day. The coffee was good. We found that there are 4-5 good restaurants in Carlstadt , not so much within walking distance, but it was easy to get to them since the hotel has a shuttle service that runs until 11 pm that will take you and pick you up, it was great. On the day we were leaving we found our battery dead, the staff were so helpful, especially a young man named Frank who came with his own vehicle to boost ours and stayed with us til we could get on our way. We had a truly great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Pretty expensive for a Hampton, but I get the rate premium you pay over a big game weekend.Best parts were the breakfast and the transportation to the stadium. Worst part was paying over $200 for a Hampton. Not a lot around, especially if you are thinking about dinner options. Next time,, I will probably choose a full service hotel like the Sheraton and pay the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October while we were in New Jersey for a NY Giants Football game. The hotel is about 1/2 km from Met Life Stadium, which we had a wonderful view of from our room. The room was great - clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful giving us any information we needed. It's also a great spot if you want to visit NY City. The New Jersey transit bus stops right across the street. We got from the hotel to Times Square in less than 1/2 hour at 1:00 pm on a Saturday afternoon. The return bus trip to the hotel is great too as the drive drops you off right in front of the hotel. It's an ideal location if you're going to NY City. Parking is free and the hotel is far cheaper than anything you'd find in NY. The included breakfast was also good - waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, fruits, etc., far more extensive than a regular continental. They'll also give you a packed breakfast if you're on the run.

Hampton Inn will definitely be our first choice of hotels now, here and other parts of the country we visit from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close the Meadowlands (we were going to the Bruce Springsteen Concert) and because it seemed easy to get to NYC too! It was absolutely wonderful! This isn't the fanciest hotel, but we have truly never been at a hotel where each and every single staff member we met seemed to only want to help us. We called to confirm because we would be getting in late and the night staff member was helpful in letting us know how much a cab should cost from LaGuardia. The next morning we talked to a staff member about going into NYC and attending the Springsteen concert at night. She gave us so much great advice about how to get around the city via buses and trains, how to get to the Meadowlands if we were going straight from the city and how to catch the shuttle from the airport. The next person we talked to arranged for a car to get us back to the airport - very efficient! The room was clean - nothing special but very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on a trip to NYC because it was much, much, cheaper than staying in the city itself. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was expansive with lots of choices. The desk staff were very friendly in helping us figure out the bus/subway schedules, and even knew within a few dollars how much cab far would be to certain places in Manhattan. There is a bus stop directly across the street from this Hampton Inn, which is really convenient. From there, it's an $8.50 round trip ticket into NYC...the bus ride took maybe 20 minutes.

If I ever return to the New York City area, I would definitely consider staying here. Also, if you're going to a Jets or Giants game, the stadium is almost within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Address: 304 Paterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Carlstadt Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.