We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   304 Paterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carlstadt
Lakefield, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nites. The hotel was very clean, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. It is in a very convenient location to get the bus into the Port Authority a block from Times Square. The bus was $8.50 round trip, most nites we came back after a Broadway show, which was around 11 pm, felt very safe. It was nice to have breakfast provided to start the day. The coffee was good. We found that there are 4-5 good restaurants in Carlstadt , not so much within walking distance, but it was easy to get to them since the hotel has a shuttle service that runs until 11 pm that will take you and pick you up, it was great. On the day we were leaving we found our battery dead, the staff were so helpful, especially a young man named Frank who came with his own vehicle to boost ours and stayed with us til we could get on our way. We had a truly great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    105
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
121
73
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Pretty expensive for a Hampton, but I get the rate premium you pay over a big game weekend.Best parts were the breakfast and the transportation to the stadium. Worst part was paying over $200 for a Hampton. Not a lot around, especially if you are thinking about dinner options. Next time,, I will probably choose a full service hotel like the Sheraton and pay the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October while we were in New Jersey for a NY Giants Football game. The hotel is about 1/2 km from Met Life Stadium, which we had a wonderful view of from our room. The room was great - clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful giving us any information we needed. It's also a great spot if you want to visit NY City. The New Jersey transit bus stops right across the street. We got from the hotel to Times Square in less than 1/2 hour at 1:00 pm on a Saturday afternoon. The return bus trip to the hotel is great too as the drive drops you off right in front of the hotel. It's an ideal location if you're going to NY City. Parking is free and the hotel is far cheaper than anything you'd find in NY. The included breakfast was also good - waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, fruits, etc., far more extensive than a regular continental. They'll also give you a packed breakfast if you're on the run.

Hampton Inn will definitely be our first choice of hotels now, here and other parts of the country we visit from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close the Meadowlands (we were going to the Bruce Springsteen Concert) and because it seemed easy to get to NYC too! It was absolutely wonderful! This isn't the fanciest hotel, but we have truly never been at a hotel where each and every single staff member we met seemed to only want to help us. We called to confirm because we would be getting in late and the night staff member was helpful in letting us know how much a cab should cost from LaGuardia. The next morning we talked to a staff member about going into NYC and attending the Springsteen concert at night. She gave us so much great advice about how to get around the city via buses and trains, how to get to the Meadowlands if we were going straight from the city and how to catch the shuttle from the airport. The next person we talked to arranged for a car to get us back to the airport - very efficient! The room was clean - nothing special but very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on a trip to NYC because it was much, much, cheaper than staying in the city itself. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was expansive with lots of choices. The desk staff were very friendly in helping us figure out the bus/subway schedules, and even knew within a few dollars how much cab far would be to certain places in Manhattan. There is a bus stop directly across the street from this Hampton Inn, which is really convenient. From there, it's an $8.50 round trip ticket into NYC...the bus ride took maybe 20 minutes.

If I ever return to the New York City area, I would definitely consider staying here. Also, if you're going to a Jets or Giants game, the stadium is almost within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel before when coming down to the Meadowlands for concerts. Rooms are very nice, large, flat screen tvs, nice large bathroom, and most important, unbelievably comfortable beds and pillows. Free breakfast is very nice also. For Springsteen concert, hotel shuttle brought us over to the stadium. The hotel had something set up with local restaurant for return but we walked. It's about a 15-20 minute walk, would not recommend unless you know where you're going. Return shuttle was only running until 1 a.m. We were at the concert that was delayed because of lightning in the area, Bruce didn't come on until 10:30 and show went until after 2. Staff is very friendly. Definitely would stay here again. The only complaint I have is tha air conditioner is loud but we were so tired that it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night as we were attending one of Bruce Springsteen's shows. The shuttle was extremely convenient. On our way out we picked up a flyer the hotel had about the shuttle that said it would stop at 12 midnight. The show was over after 12. We didn't take a chance, we hitched a ride back to the hotel with friends who were at the show so I can't say if the return shuttle was running or not.
The room was very nice, nice clean linens, big frig! The only downside I could see is that the air conditioner was kind of noisy, but that was to be expected. We slept well and enjoyed the breakfast before we left. I'd definitely return to the Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front, there was some road noise, not enough to keep us awake though. The back w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands Hotel
Hampton Inn Carlstadt
Carlstadt Hampton Inn
Address: 304 Paterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.