We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was impeccable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The room was impeccable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

When I pulled in I was somewhat concerned at the outside appearance and the garage was in disrepair. Raj at the front desk was very welcoming. The doors from the parking lot to the room areas are not secure so that would be a concern, but my stay was quiet and I will be staying there next month. Just like to see them secure the building better.

Room Tip: It seems some of them have been renovated so just ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
38
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Peekskill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I felt very comfortable with my stay. The front desk clerk Raj was very professional, and cordial. The rooms were were impeccable, and it's close in proximity to Manhattan, which is also a big plus. I would stay there again, and I would definitely suggest it to friends of mine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stay in this place several times in my business trips and they offer good quality for cheap prices. I have experience in renovate rooms with very nice and clean bathrooms. Some of the rooms have jacuzzi !! Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I am an awards member elite diamond level for many years this property is agem in a very busy part of town clean modern rooms Elyn G.M. takes pride in this establishment Raj at the front very helpful and courteous cleaning and all staff courteous and helpful I cant beleive i am in a very fast paced discurtious city and i have stayed in every chain in every state in the country and some out of country I am very pleased

Room Tip: If you like sunshine ask for exterior if you wat the courtyard view ask for interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I decided to stay at this hotel over a different one in the past due to great reviews of it. It is fairly close to the city, VERY close to a bus stop which takes you to the city, has a generous continental breakfast, has free safe parking, and was reasonably priced. My only negative was that I was charged a fee for the safe, but it was only $1.50 per day. Apparently, that information was in the contract that I signed, so if you don't intend to use it, let them know. The breakfast was wonderful, and it was one of those hotels which has interior doors. I liked that part of it, too. (On a side note, know that the bus was often late picking up and dropping off.)

Room Tip: Honestly, our room seemed very quiet. We were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I would like go ahead and refund the safe charge back to your account if you would provide me some information about your stay. You can send me the info at ; eylemtn@gmail.com.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Eylem Naik
General Manager
Econolodge Meadowlands
201 935 4600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great hotel for the money...clean,,..service was great...all the necessities and Raj was an added plus. So helpful and accommodating. Def a good experience. Would recommend ...closest hotel/motel to Meadowlands. Also, free complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great place, friendly staff, clean rooms and facility. Its quiet and clean. Raj and his staff make this a nice place to stay. I'd recommend it for anyone needing to stay in the Meadowlands area. Public transportation right out the door to go anywhere in the NYC area. Good restaurants and shopping close by. A nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Buidling, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. Major nearby airports including Newark Liberty International Airport, LaGuardia Airport and the John F. Kennedy International Airport make this Jersey City hotel an ideal choice for travelers from all locations. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes waffles, English muffins, croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads and cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.