We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price and proximity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Champlain, New York
1 review
“Great value for price and proximity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great value for being minutes away from NYC by NJ transit Bus just across the street that takes you stray to Time Square. Even if we arrive way before check inn they accomodate us nicely. Staff is friendly, room was clean and confy. This hotel also offers free shuttle to major events at metlife witch is great. Plenty of parking wiht extenteed hours before and after the stay for touring.

Only downside is that the common area in the courtyard where the breakfast was not heated and the temperature outside was in the low 30's.

If i go back to NY would stay there again. Thanks Raj for the good service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
38
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed to a lot of hotels and lodges but i can name a few who i feel so at home and this one is one of them. Room is clean. Location is great. Free breakfast is amazing. Management and staff are very nice & friendly. Plenty of parking. Highly recommended. Thank you Mr Raj for making me feel so at home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel twice, OCt 11-13 and Nov 28. I would highly recommend this hotel. Well equipped room, neat and clean and good complementary breakfast. I would also appreciate the front desk person Mr. Raj. He is a very good person and very much helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The quality of service and amazing staff made this a perfect stay. Raj exceeded expectations, I cannot express how great the stay was, starting from the little price where normally you would get terrible service. I was welcomed and given an amazing world class experience

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend. First off the room smelled bad and the bedsheets had yellow stains on them. Maybe I'm ruined by watching Hotel Impossible but this place wasn't the best. The price was decent and had a bus stop nearby which went into NYC. I guess our stay was the worst because there was a bus and a half load of people from Canada there for a hockey and football game. They were drinking and smoking weed inside the courtyard area. I had to call the front desk many times in order for them to be quiet and it didn't seem to help. I would say their front desk people need more balls to confront illegal and inappropriate behavior. I would stay somewhere else next time... The bed was comfortable and the tv was nice. Also the area is pretty bad...right next to several abandoned buildings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

November 2013 three night stay.
Great value for being minutes away from NYC. We drive to the Port Authority to park.
The common area where the breakfast was not heated and the temperature outside was in the 20's.
We have stayed here numerous times and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed several times at this Econo Lodge when making trips to NYC. The location can't be beat, and the prices are quite reasonable, especially in the off-season. This time we found rooms that had been nicely updated. The bathrooms still are tiny, but the king-sized bed room was comfortable. Not so great was the breakfast. The coffee maker was broken the first morning, and although coffee was provided in a thermos, there was no hot water for tea. The breakfast area was extremely cold and it was impossible to sit comfortably and eat without a coat and gloves on. By the second day, the coffee maker was fixed. However, the machine works very slowly and a long line quickly develops if several people are in the area at one time. I would rate the room above average and the breakfast below average.

Room Tip: This location is a quick drive from the Lincoln Tunnel, which spills into Port Authority where you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Buidling, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. Major nearby airports including Newark Liberty International Airport, LaGuardia Airport and the John F. Kennedy International Airport make this Jersey City hotel an ideal choice for travelers from all locations. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes waffles, English muffins, croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads and cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.