We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Patterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

the hotel is very basic but comfortable for long stay, fridge and microwave in the room, simple but total breakfast. it was clean and room service are very honest, but the ac was complicated to be managed but it was working properly at the end
very fast respond for any complain

but still no food room service was not so nice

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
72
49
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great room, friendly staff, free breakfast.. Although they said the pool would be closed due to renovations and it was opened... I never heard any renovations going on at all, which was a great thing..There was a bus stop a block up from the hotel to go to NYC.. cost for bus ride was $4.25 (That was nice). I would recommend this hotel to my friends.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is under renovation right now. I believe that we had received a recent renovated room on the 3rd floor. The breakfast is ok since included in the price. My son does not like the bacon at all. He finds the the bacon is not crispy enough and it must come out of the microwave, instead of the frying pan as his mother always does. He loves the waffle.

It is very good value for staying in this hotel. Location wise is fine with us. It takes us only 15-20 minutes to get to Times Square, going through the Lincoln Tunnel. It is cheaper for us, family of four, if you can get into Manhattan before 10am and get out before midnight. We paid $16/day (tax included). But the parking cost has risen from $13.46+tx to $17+tx since August 26th. It usually costs more for a family of four to buy train ticket from NJ to Pen Station.

This is our four times going to NYC (twice staying in NYC). This costs us a lot less than station in Midtown, Soha, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great rooms, friendly staff, clean and in new conditions. a lot of space, fridge, microwaves. Hot breakfast with free wifi, free parking. I will recommend it. Near NYC, in 15 minutes you are in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your stay. We appreciate the confidence you have in us and your loyalty to the brand means a great deal. We value you as our guest and your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel which is currently undergoing some renovations. Notices were posted throughout the hotel about the renovations, but it would have been nice to know about these renovations before our arrival. According to the hotel, the renovations will be undergoing through the end of August, 2013. We did not hear any construction noise during our 3-night stay but you could definitely see the renovations in process.

The breakfast area is very clean and there is a wide variety of food, from cold cereal to eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, yogurt and more. This area can get quite crowded but you can ask for a tray & take your meal back to your room if you wish.

The hotel staff was very helpful in giving us directions to the public bus that take you into NYC ($8.50 round trip -- best bargain you'll find in NYC!). There are not a lot of restaurants in the area, but one, Redds, has a shuttle that will pick you up at the hotel which was convenient for us on our first night here.

The rooms are a good size and quiet. Our room had a beautiful view of the NYC skyline and overlooked a major road. The road noise, however, was fairly quiet. Lots of electrical outlets to plug in your electronics (cell phones, lap tops, etc.). Nice variety of television stations as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide great customer service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guest, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be provided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel even while it is being renovated I was impressed with the cleanliness. The staff is super friendly and Shereane is awesome. Great proximity to a lot of amenities. The pool is not open but I was okay with that for the price I paid for my room. The breakfast was plenty, fresh, and hot. Overall my family and I had a very good stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide great customer service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guest, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be provided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really wanted to like this place. I really did. I generally like Holiday Inn express, and the people here are very nice, but the stay was one mistake after another.

Nowhere, when I booked did it say that the hotel was undergoing renovations. Now I don’t know whether this would have dissuaded me from booking, but I think I would have liked the informed choice.

Day one: We got there in the evening on one of the hottest days on record (July 19 2013- 100ᵒF) and got up to our room, and the keys didn’t work. Oh well, we ran down, had them re-keyed and went into the room which was at 79ᵒF. Obviously, this was not the setting, but the actual temperature in the room. Oh well, we figured we just go to the pool, and tell them that the AC wasn’t working, and then we’d go back to our nice cool room. Nope. After pool; still 79ᵒF. Go back down, and debate about that no, it actually wasn’t fixed, and could we please be moved. It’s now 10:00pm. Moved to a room two doors down and was welcomed by AC. Keep in mind, this is day one.

Day two: We go into NY with the promise all day that yes it was unbearably hot, but when we get back to the hotel he can go swimming to cool off. We get back, and my son was bouncing like Tigger ready to jump into the pool. Now keep in mind, the pool and the proximity to NY are the sole reasons we booked this hotel. Clearly, they couldn’t screw up the proximity to NY, but they did manage to screw up the pool. My son bounded down in his swim trunks and goggles ran to the pool, and it was closed. We talked to the desk as directed in the note, and were told “Sorry it’s closed due to construction”. That’s it. No more, no less. So we went back to our room and sat and stared at the four walls. Hottest day of the year, and no pool. At least we had AC.

Day three: We wake up, and hope that the pool is open today. No such luck. The breakfast is actually very good for a free hotel breakfast. We pack and check out. I complained about all of the problems as was told a few of things: First is that there wasn’t construction that closed the pool, they over-chlorinated it, and was waiting for a company to clear it for use. Second; that we could have been using the pool next door - something they could actually have put ON THE FREAKING “POOL CLOSED” SIGN! And third: they would have loved to have given me a discounted rate, but since I booked through a third party (expedia- who had a much better rate than their site) there was “nothing” they could do. “Nothing”. Really? Nothing? Not one thing? You couldn’t think of a single thing you could do to make up for screwing me over?

Oh well, despite my IHG Membership, it doesn’t look like I’ll be staying with them again. Hello Hilton!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands

Address: 100 Patterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from New York City and Izod Center, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is your best choice in Carlstadt. You ll find the things that are most important to whether you re here for business or pleasure. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the ideal destination. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed Internet, 24-hour business center, faxing, and copying is available to you. And if you re here for pleasure you are just minutes away from Garden State Plaza Shopping Mall, Secaucus Outlets, great dining locations, and at the end of the day enjoy our indoor heated pool for relaxation. No matter what brings you to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites your room is your personal retreat. The key word is comfort with great bedding, modern décor and all the cable, sports, and movie channels you need. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is a favorite business and leisure visitors to Carlstadt and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Express Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Carlstadt
Carlstadt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.