We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Store

The Red Store
500 Cape Ave, Cape May Point, NJ 08212
609-884-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Red Store is located in the beautiful neighborhood of Cape may Point, serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The Red Store features local products and produce creating a fresh, eclectic and seasonal menu.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We went for their bbq sunday dinner. It was amazing! My husband had rib dinner and i had pulled pork sandwhich. Food was incredible, also had an empanadas, the spicy beef. So good! We are planning on coming in for breakfast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had dinner at the Red Store on a Saturday night. Food was outstanding, service was impeccable, over all an outstanding dining experience. The Red Store is an outstanding example of the farm-(sea)-to-table genre of dining. Each course was expertly prepared and magnificently presented. The service was attentive without hovering and the overall taste experience was superb. Each course was well paced and we never felt rushed or wondered where the next course was. Note this is a BYOB with no corkage fee.

So why not a well deserved five stars? Because they only take cash, no credit or debit cards. For the price of this experience, there is no excuse for this. We simple do not carry that much cash with us on a normal basis. We were prepared based on a previous lunch experience but, in 2013, there is simply no excuse for forcing customers to carry cash in order to experience this outstanding culinary treat. Having an ATM on site is just not an acceptable substitute. I understand that accepting credit/debit cards incurs a cost but that is the price of doing business in the twenty-first century.

We would highly recommend ths establishment for lunch or dinner, just be aware of the cash only limitation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it so much--we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Red Store has some buzz. With some recommendations not to miss this place, we headed there for lunch before sightseeing at the Cape May Lighthouse. Cucumberade drink and ginger-lemonade were absolutely refreshing. Lunch for us was the crab and avocado salad and the fish tacos. Service was excellent and our spot under the awning outside was very pleasant. We returned for Sunday brunch with a couple of friends and again, had a great time with fresh and well-prepared, creative dishes and beverages and pleasant service on the patio. Don't miss the Red Store!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace in Cape May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were referred to Red Store by another restaurant, Sea Salt. RS is off the beaten path in Cape May Point. Easy to get to though. Host is Ed. Wonderful guy. Got my family in after a nice conversation with my wife. It is BYoB but they also have a bottles there from a local winery. Two and the course dinners only, price fixed. Bring cash, they don't take credit cards, which is my only gripe. For what they charge, they should offer that service. Doug, the server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Loved the scallops, the snapper, the baked egg and so much more. Very pricey but worth the nice experience. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cape May Point -Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow- The Red Store is the place to go if you are tired of just going out to eat and you want a dining experience. My wife and I were visiting the area form Indianapolis so we were delighted to dine at the The Red Store which features farm to table dining. Our server, Erin, not only knew the menu but why they chose the point of view and how all of the ingredients were sourced locally. Erin also not only knew the ingredients but she knew the flavor profiles of the dishes and how they would hit the palette. Ed remembered me making our reservation as well as our preference to dine on the patio- which helped make a memorable evening. After saying all of this I would be remiss if I omitted the fact that the food exceeded the above accolades. No dish was anything less than spectacular. Even the standard Crab and Corn Chowder stood out with flavors that were subtle and off the beaten path. We would have loved to sample the desserts but the three course offering was plenty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Store also viewed

Cape May Point, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Red Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.