We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Store

The Red Store
500 Cape Ave, Cape May Point, NJ 08212
609-884-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Red Store is located in the beautiful neighborhood of Cape may Point, serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The Red Store features local products and produce creating a fresh, eclectic and seasonal menu.
North Cape May
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great place. The food is fantastic =done with great care. Small selection but
something to appeal to all. service was excellent and atmosphere on a lovely night outdoors
perfect. Portions not small at all. New fave in Cape May,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Premium Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little restaurant located in Cape May Point is a real gem. It is a small place which has both inside and outside tables.

Note that reservations are taken for the inside only, and that this is a BYOB and Cash Only restaurant. An ATM is on site.

The waiter told us several times that the portions were "small". Perhaps people who are used to the chain restaurants have complained about the sizes. We found them quite appropriate.

My wife and I started out with the 'Tuna Tartar'. This was simply exquisite. Don't miss it! My wife then had the Farm Egg en Cocotte and I had the Fisherman's Stew. We both felt the dishes were excellent. The only downside with the food was the Alaskan King Salmon Salad and the Gelato dessert. They were nothing to write home about.

The Wait Staff was very friendly and informative. Time between courses was rather long in spite of the restaurant not being crowded.

Bring some wine and enjoy the dine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Red Store is our new favorite in Cape May County. We were a party of 8 and they sat us in the store which was just a delightful place to enjoy one of the best dinners we've had all Summer. The tasting menu started with Tuna Tartar that was one of the best I've had anywhere in the world. The next course was the grilled octopus and...ditto, one of the best I've tasted. The main course was the Tile Fish and it was also delicious. Our server was very pleasant, friendly and accomodating in every way. The Maitre d was also very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Red Store. We will be back again and again... Thank you all for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret Is Out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just had dinner last night and from the remnants of an old delapadated general store is a 5-star restaurant in Cape May Point. Sure the breakfast and lunches are awesome but the dinner was amazing! Where do you get 4 courses for $60+tip? Great ambiance in the quiet deck outside, and great service too! The word is dinners will be served through the holidays but hours will cut back to weekends in October.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Heard the restaurant started serving dinner with a new chef who just finished a year at a cooking school in Paris in August. This did not disappoint and we left after a great meal-we had the 4 tastings menu-what a treat! We will be back and bring our friends and family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Store also viewed

Cape May Point, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Red Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.