We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clary's Country Corner Restaurant

Clary's Country Corner Restaurant
2 W Hereford Ave, Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
6094654361
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Family Fare, Diner, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place has it all. Very nice interior, pleasant, happy, fast waitresses, delicious mouth watering food! I suggest going and enjoying a nice around town place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skippack, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Darn Fish Tacos Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stopped in on a whim and was immediately greeted so warmly my family and I thought we were at a relatives house for the holidays. It didn't matter they were only 15 minutes from closing (a fact I learned later), service was gracious and prompt. Most of them got breakfast but I opted for the Fish Tacos. Beer-battered grouper nuggets with lettuce, tomato, avacado and an awesome sauce served warm on corn tortilla's. Probably the best I ever had, and didn't give it a second thought (yes it was a breakfast place, but c'mon, its in a shore town with the fish traveling all of 10 miles?). Can't wait to go back to try the pancakes but seems I need to be lucky with the timing, I don't like waiting in line.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Simple, perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have lived in the area for 15 years. Drove by the place hundreds of times. Last Sunday morning my wife and I decided... what the heck. There was a line. There was a wait. There was a reason for the line and the wait. This was simple, perfect breakfast with no fuss. Great pancakes were their claim to fame. I wanted the chipped beef (SOS). I asked my waitress which should I order? She suggested why not get both. Get the chipped beef and a single pancake on the side. I did and now I know that I'll be back (a lot) and get the chipped beef ON the pancakes because they were both excellent. My wife's omelet was equally great. Service was super and friendly. They had a buss boy who was working his butt off taking care of the entire dining room which we got a kick out of. Great coffee and all in a little unassuming country diner. Don't drive by Clary's. Stop in and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“YUMMY!! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Have driven past this place for years, and decided to give it a try this year based on other reviews here on Trip Advisor. Best blueberry pancakes I ever had! Light and fluffy, not heavy. Hubby had plain pancskes and he loved them too. I had the best crispy bacon ever, and hubby had sausage. We went at lunchtime, but found out they serve breakfast all day, and are known for their pancakes, so had to try them. Want to go back and have some lunch food next time. The crab spinach soup sounded delish!! The place is rustic, nothing fancy, and the wait staff was nice. I plan to make this a Must-go-to place every time we're in the area now!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't go here, it is too busy (just kidding, I want a seat)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Minutes off the parkway, just below exit 10 (I can't recall the actual exit number here). Don't be fooled by the ramshackle exterior. This is a very special place with true 'local' flavor. It is reminiscent of what little local spots were like before the advent of fast food, chain franchises, and 'family restaurants' took over the food world.

Breakfast is great, with most anything you want and all good or better. The only 'problem' is it has been very 'discovered' and is often TOO busy. (You can figure out why...), especially at peak times (parking can be a problem, and you may sit outside a while). If you can't wait, the big diner in Cape May Courthouse is a good alternative and only a few minutes north.

Servers are friendly and do a good job, considering the crowds. "Atmosphere" is 'local cafe' at its best...nothing fancy, just clean hectic, good. Prices are fair, especially considering the resort area prices nearby..

I am sure lunch is good too (daily specials look promising) but we are usually 'late breakfast' people, even after noon. You will have to judge lunches on your own, but I would bet you will still be pleased.

Kudos to the team that owns and runs this place. We need more of them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clary's Country Corner Restaurant also viewed

Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Clary's Country Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clary's Country Corner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.