We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Corner Room Perfect for 3-4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
The Virginia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large Corner Room Perfect for 3-4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My grown daughters and I wanted to visit Cape May for a quiet weekend and a little bonding time. I am so glad we chose to stay at the Virginia Hotel! In addition to the large, comfy bed the room easily accomodated a sleeper sofa which was also very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows, towels, and a nice assortment of bath products. Complimentary continental breakfast could have been served in our room but we chose the downstairs sitting room with a crackling fire for the cool Spring mornings. The beach, shops and many restaurants were all within walking distance - we loved the food at YB Eats and Tisha's, especially. In the evenings we enjoyed a glass of wine served on the front porch and at night, we walked the two blocks to Congress Hall and listened to live music. It was the perfect combination of fun and relaxation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    95
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
36
258
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Getting away from the Central Jersey Shore (ravaged by Sandy) and heading just a little south to Exit 0 was like being a world away. The first nice weekend of this spring made it even more eventful. All the shops & restaurants & events open as if summer had arrived. We usually stay at Congress Hall, but decided on one of its other properties - The Virginia. We built the stay around our dinner Sat nite at the Ebbitt Room. It was extra nice that The Virginia was offering a 2 nite special inclu a voucher towards the dinner. We were greeted by an attentive desk and eventually the valet. Parking is 'free' on the streets until May 1 by the way. But valet is so much easier and more convenient. The car was ready at any time within a few minutes. They park it at Congress Hall. The 'Spa Room' was very nice - considered mid-size room - but as with all old houses that is a relative term. Limited breakfast served at your choosing. Hotel is walking distance to pretty much everything though. The staff was quite nice especially at the front desk. It seems that at happy hour, though, they were a little overwhelmed - but they did apologize for the inconvenience. You can share all of the amenities of both Hotels - which means the pool, gym, etc. No elevators, but you would know that prior to booking. Tip: We stayed in the "Shower Spa; room. It is offset from the room within the bathroom, which is nice. The shower has 3 heads with a rain head. The hot water is very hot - which is quite nice, but be careful. Shower fills with steam, but when you step out into bathroom - not even the mirror is fogged - very nice

Room Tip: .Tip: keep the AC on to drown out any exterior noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to spend our first wedding anniversary here. We enjoy this hotel. Pros: quaint, clean, charming hotel, great location. Cons: some wear and tear starting to show in some rooms. I was disappointed that they did not acknowledge our anniversary as I did let them know the date while making the reservation. Would have been a nice touch. But of course this didn't damper our weekend and we will certainly return! We always enjoy our stay but you will discover some rooms are definitely better than others! Enjoy if you stay here.. On site restaurant good, mad batter nextdoor good for last minute meal, congress must go to blue pig tavern ( we enjoy breakfast and lunch) or just a cup of coffee at gift shop, tishas fine dinning excellent! All walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We've been visiting Cape May for more than 20 years and finally took the opportunity to stay at the Virginia Hotel. It is one of the few nice places (hotel or B&B) where you can book a one night stay on a weekend.

The staff were kind, cheeful and welcoming from check in to check out. The room was large and bright. Decor was tasteful and not the typical CM Victoriana. The large tub and separate shower are accommodated in a large and bright bathroom.

The view from our room allowed us to see the sun come up over the roof tops in the morning.

Take advantage of the porch for excellent people watching along Jackson Street.

The Ebbitt Room was a perfect choice for dinner Saturday night and the espresso martini on the veranda was a sublime night cap.

Continental breakfast is included in the price of the stay.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator and you must navigate a flight of steps to reach the lobby and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beyond impressed with service , accommodations, and amenities. Go see beach plum too!!!! Booking another stay as we speak. Blue pig tavern best meal in a long time. Could maybe do a bit more for breakfast but at least then you are hungry for some great cape may snacks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I had our third stay at the Virginia Hotel in mid-April and we both were disappointed to see the diminished level of service and quality. We are not high-maintenance people but what always impressed us about the Virginia was the exceptional service delivered consistently in the intimate, luxury resort-hotel environment. While the hotel is still attractive and the staff courteous, the experience is quite different than it was a few years ago. Pros: great location, nicely-appointed room with basic amenities, excellent restaurant on-site and friendly staff. Cons: the furniture and finishings are showing their wear (tired, stained furniture, lumpy beds and old linens), the breakfast options are fewer and of lower quality (= skimping), and above all, the level of service has dropped. It used to be that the staff, from front desk personnel to valet, provided 5-star hotel service -- they were service-oriented, thoughtful and focused on the guest experience. While the current staff is helpful, they don't seem to be well-trained or care as much about the guest experience. A few years ago the Virginia Hotel room rates -- while a bit high but on par with other Cape Resorts properties (e.g., Congress Hall) -- meant that you received a premium level of value and service; this is no longer the case.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms with private balconies overlooking Jackson Street are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel to the moment we left, we were treated with care. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in, at the bar, when serving us breakfast and at check out. It was exactly what we hoped in this lovely town. Allowing guests to chose where the want breakfast - room, veranda or lobby - was special. We will be back.

Room Tip: The queen bed on the first floor has 2 windows, so was very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.