We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
The Virginia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“anniversary trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay a night at the Virginia hotel for our anniversary this January. We heard great things so figured we'd check it out. From the moment we pulled up I knew we were going to love it there. The beautifully lit fireplace and cozy seating area was such a warm welcome. We had a medium sized room with a king bed on the third floor and it was adorable. We loved everything from the colors of the deco to the mini bar =) We didn't eat at the Ebbit room because we had already made reservations elsewhere but the menu looked delicious. We plan to eat there the next time we stay at the Virginia hotel hopefully in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    91
    33
    23
    11
See reviews for
34
240
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I checked in the day after Christmas for one night. We loved the Christmas decorations, so pretty. We had a room on the third floor. It was spacious enough with a modern/deco decor. I loved the wallpaper, mirror frames and red lampshades. We had dinner at the Ebbit room, food and service were excellent. Be prepared to spend a little, with wine and tip dinner was close to $200 for two (but we did each get an appetizer and split a desert so a lot of food!). I left off one start because the service was a bit lacking. Staff seemed on the young side and not at all polished. There was no one to help with luggage, despite three floors. Also, there was no turn down service which I read about on here before hand. Not a big deal but it would have been a nice touch. Breakfast was an added bonus, hot coffee, very light (yogurt and fruit, husband ordered a bagel) but certainly plenty. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Plesasant
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had been to Cape May before and felt that it would be a great place to visit and experience a Victorian Christmas. The Virginia Hotel did not disappoint. It was beautifully decorated for the holiday. The amenities were more than expected and the service impeccable. All the comforts of home with the little extra touches. The continental breakfast came right to the room. We had an absolutely delicious meal at the Ebbit Room dining room. It is also just one block away from all the cute shops and the beach. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay at The Virginia Hotel and it was an excellent experience! The hotel is beautiful and very cozy. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. Location is perfect. Only 1 short block to great shopping with plenty of adorable eclectic shops and only 1 block to beautiful Cape May beach. We highly recommend The Virginia Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife took me away for a few days before the holidays and based on Tripadvisor, this was the place to go. The bed was heavenly, the shower was powerful, the staff was professional and curteous,

They have a continental breakfast that is high end and either delivered to your room or one of the verandas.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but enjoyed the bar for a drink to celebrate the season.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

So beautifully decorated for holidays. Warm fire. Pleasant and helpful staff. Room was cozy and bath newly outfitted with large shower. Breakfast delivered in the morning was such a treat. Ate at the Ebbit Room, right downstairs and it was fabulous. Kind of a dreary night so it was so nice no need to go out. Overall, a warm and memorable experience. Will return hopefully same time next year!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went in December for 1 night. It was decorated BEAUTIFULLY for Christmas. Check in was swift and friendly. The room was clean and spa-like. The radio was playing music when we walked in. When we came back from dinner, our bed was turned down and blinds closed. In the evening we enjoyed drinks in one of the sun rooms, adjacent to the parlor with a roaring fire and tall Christmas tree. Next morning we had a delicious complimentary breakfast in our room, which could have been eaten downstairs in the sunroom if we chose. The hotel is located just yards from Washington Street Mall. Great location. Perfect accommodations!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.