We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
The Virginia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
cruise to Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to Cape May, off season (in November). We stayed at the Virginia Hotel,
which is a bed and breakfast. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautiful and
the people behind the desk are very helpful. A great place to stay off season if
you don't mind most of the attractions being closed. It is very close to the beach
and it was fun walking on the beach and collecting shells, even though it
wasn't very warm. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, which we would do again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    85
    32
    22
    11
See reviews for
34
232
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had to come back and get our "Virginia Hotel Fix". This was our second time and if it was possible, it was even better than the first (which was awesome)! From the minute we arrived to the time we had to pull ourselves away, everything was perfect. We had a cocktail by the fire in the lounge, enjoyed a delectable dinner in the Ebbit Room and shared a wonderful breakfast in our room. The weather great and Melissa at the front desk gave us some great ideas for places to go during the day and things that we could do. For anyone who wants that "get away", treat yourself and stay with the folks at the Virginia, they always make us feel special. See you in the Spring!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Virginia twice, once in the fall and once again in the spring. Hands down, had the best time we've had in Cape May. Wonderful staff, rooms, decor, drinks....loved everything about it. We definitely plan on staying again this summer and going for a private balcony! Had dinner at the Blue Pig in town, wonderful!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The Virginia Hotel is a very upscale Inn with hotel atmosphere. Everything from the unique classic decor which marries the inn's Victorian architecture/ history beautifully. However the lack of service completely detracts from all of this. It was certainly not the courtesiness. Especially the youngest of the staff the valet attendants. It was the lack of number of appropriate staffing. Particularly for a weekend when there were numerous tourist activities scheduled in the town of Cape May. Perhaps it was the impending hurricane. Though I do not think this was the case as there were plenty of tourists in the town enjoying the activities which I observed. Even so, knowing that this particular weekend did have these festivities scheduled is nothing new for the resort and the amount of staff should have reflected this.
This is simply not conducive to promoting tourism in New Jersey or in Cape May County which is a year round travel destination. The merchants in this small NJ town cannot afford especially in these economic times to not be attentive to patrons needs.
Otherwise, the food was fabulous. The room was fabulous, right down to the pillows on the bed! The television did not change channels and then went completely out. The keys to the mini bar did not work. When calling down to the front desk a total of approximately 7 times finally a very pleasant unknowledgable young girl responded by offering there really wasn't anything she could do. It was a bit unsettling knowing at that hour of the night, the hotel guests were under the watch of someone whom I probably have shoes older than. Yet this hotel is one of three properties owned/run by the Cape Resorts group. Two of which are in Cape May. They are not the best at follow up either as I am still awaiting to hear from the front desk on an item I may have lost in the room. Our stay was on October 26, 2012. I would very much like to stay there again or perhaps recommend the hotel to others who have asked about my visit. However, the jury is still out on that since I would be hesitant what others/ myself may experience service wise. These may seem like small inconveniences or details,however when you are paying those prices with a 14% room tax included the inequities need to be addressed. Hope this is corrected in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a very quiet weekday get away, which suited us just fine. Since November is definitely not in season in Cape May many people we met were people who lived in Cape May or nearby. The weather was nice enough' though, to walk on the beach, shop or tour around town. The Virginia was a lovely hotel with nice amenities. Our first floor room was spacious for two. Breakfast was included and you had the choice of room service or being served in the lobby or porches. We chose the porch which allowed us room to spread out to enjoy not only breakfast, but the paper and the company of other guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Wow! The Virginia is a real gem. From the attentive staff, our cozy room, the exception cuisine at the Ebbitt Room, to the amazingly relaxing lounge areas, The Virginia is simply the best! Made our 5th Anniversary getaway beyond memorable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Cape May has a lot to offer and you cant' really appreciate it in only a few days. The Cape Resorts group that offers the Virginian B&B is located on one of the prettiest streets in NJ. Everything is pretty much in walking distance and all the staff are friendly and the resort offers all the amenities you could ask for. Cape May is like no other town and anyone that visits usually comments how it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;