We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We loved it and we'll be back. WE have been coming here for seven straight summers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Virginia Hotel to your Saves list
The Virginia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
springfield
1 review
“"We loved it and we'll be back. WE have been coming here for seven straight summers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

you just have to pull up. they park the car. no need for you to bring towels, chairs, umbrellas. They provide everything. It is so relaxing and the staff is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    91
    33
    23
    11
See reviews for
34
240
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very comfortable and clean hotel, with a very good restaurant. Valet terrific: quick and polite. Desk help, except for the one female were boardering on preoccupied and overwhelmed. While outwardly polite and accommodating, at one point I thought that the desk person (who I think was part of the managment), would become angry if I asked him one more (reasonable and routine) question.
I have stayed here several times before and in addition to the desk demeanor, I noticed that the complimentary breakfast was boring and routine, while still decent. A few years ago it was varied and truely home made. The room was very clean, but bathrooms, rugs in halls,etc. are getting a bit shabby! Some fixtures are in need of replacement. Not bad, but not really good enough for the Virginia!
Beach service very good. Polite, convenient and a MAJOR plus! Access to Congress Hall pool, etc. really nice!
I love the Virginia. Just wish that they could up the front dest attitude and do some touch ups and repairs. I chalked up the slight decline as a result of the recession. I hope that I am correct, and this will improve.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaManager, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our guests comments and feedback are always welcomed and are used to help us better ourselves and refine services. I am very sorry you felt that our desk staffs service was anything thing less than extrodinary. It is true that due to the extreme volume/popularity of our property our staff can get overwhlemd at times.Since reading your review we have added additional staff to keep up with our high demand while still being able to delivery superior customer service. Additionally, we are aware of the various minor items that need replacing in certain areas of our property. This spring we focused on the painting of the build ing and renovation of our Dining room as our major projects prior to our season. As part of our continued comittment to excellence we will be resuming upgrading our property in the fall when our occupancy allows us the time needed to do so. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Virginia this past July. I have stayed in Cape May many times before in a B&B and decided to try this for the beach service. The hotel was very nice, modern and clean. The location is the best. The beach service (the set up chairs, towels, little tables and umbrellas on the beach for you) made it worth the trip (they even have lunch service) and worth the extra cost of staying at the Virginia. If you enjoy that, it's worth it. The downside is the front desk. They were very confused and screwed up my bill up 4 times. It was a good thing we were checking. They just didn't know how to use the computers. They also screwed up my friends bill twice. READ YOUR BILL !! They are very confused when it comes to checkout and charges. Besides that it was nice. It is noisy due to the restaurant so bring ear plugs or a sound soother to sleep (ours worked fine and we didn't hear all the noise).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaManager, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I am very sorry to read about your billing issues. Like most computer systems our software is not always 100% perfect 100% of the time. Unfortunatley, from the sounds of things it seems you happen to be one of the very few guests who encounter an issues like this. Our as a precautionary measure our Night Audit team does take the time to review the bills nightly prior to distrbution however sometimes billing issues are not always apparent until the guest has the oppertuniy to review for themselves. Due to the rarity of these event our desk staff is not always able to discern the exact cause of the problem thus limiting their ability to correct the issue. Based on your feedback we have impliment several "fail safes" to better identify, address and correct issues like yours moving forward. I thank you for bringing this area of needed improvment to our attention. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Service was outstanding! Room cleaned twice at day. Nice breakfast tray for 2 each morning served on front porch. I was a little concerned as there is no parking area around the hotel. But this proved to be no problem, the valets quickly took my car to a parking lot on the next block. They retrieved each time we wanted it within minutes! A hot tub in the room would have been nice but not really needed. Minibar stocked to overflowing. Pool is at Congress Hotel. Great service at pool and on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Virginia Hotel is very nice. The location is perfect. I really enjoyed the beautifully furnished and decorated room. Cape May can get quite pricey in the summer. I was looking at b&b's first but the prices were still very high for much lower quality so we settled for the Virginia. The only complain I have is the breakfast. It was really nothing...a cheap yogurt, few mini-muffins and some fruit salad. I think that it does not suit the standard of the hotel. They should offer some kind of hot dish with their breakfast like eggs etc...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We loved Cape May, and The Virginia is in the heart of the (generally low key) action. Less than a block to the beach, where you will be set up by Virginia Hotel attendants with chairs, towels, umbrella, etc. Be aware that the town charges $5 pp/day for beach use. Wonderful beach, I lazed and walked it a lot. About a block to sister property Congress Hall, Virginia guests can use all the facilities there.
The Hotel, like most buildings in Cape May, is old. But, it has received some upgrades...flat screen TVs, very nice bedding, etc. Old in this case is also charming.
Most rooms are pretty small. We had the largest available, the Virginia room, with an expansive balcony.
Staff was very accommodating, and dining at the Ebbitt Room, the Hotel restaurant, was excellent.
We would return if we visit Cape May again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Virginia for a long winter birthday weekend. Our room was lovely, the decor just delightful. We had breakfast in bed each morning, shopped and explored all day, and then indulged in incredible dinners each night, the best being at the Virginia's own Ebbitt Room. The staff was always more than helpful, we can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Virginia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.